What? Did that really happen?/Whos viking?


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Cochabamba Department » Cochabamba
September 6th 2010
Published: September 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My familiaMy familiaMy familia

Cubelle bottom left, MIrza (my mom) center, Ariselle to the right, and Daniellea and Luis at the top.
My spider kill count is at an all time high. Trying to currently figure out how I am possibly going to blog my weekend because its really difficult to piece it all together. Probably is considered to be the most intense weekend Ive had here. It all started friday when I spread the word to Kevin that we were going to see the BRUJA (witCH) who was supposed to tell our fortunes to us. John was trying to go as well and at like 330pm we met up and Lilliana told us it wasnt happening. BUST I thought and Kevin and I contemplated what to do. JOhn seemed quite disappointed and went home. Considering it was friday and We were supposed to be sleeping outside at Noche sin Techo the day was still young, Kevin was also down for this. Noche Sin techno was an event somewhat organized by the British girl AMY. It was a homeless awareness event and everyone who was supposed to attend was going to be sleeping outside. Kevin and I decided to hit up Jose Luis the japanese man considering we were supposed to be all meeting at the front gate at 7 and it was around 330ish. I called Alex and we decided to hit up her video store and she agreed to meet us there. When we got the cross streets of Espana and Equator her shop wasnt open so we went in the bar right next to her store and were greeted by a Beautiful bolivian waitress. It didnt look as if the place was open but she reaffirmed us that it was ok and we took a seat and ordered each a liter of Taquina beer. I noticed Alex's shop open and told Kevin I was going to run over and tell her I was across the street. As I saw some scary ass dude sort of hop in her store (its like 3 steps to get inside) I followed then at the last second bailed out. Dude came out sat on the top step
and light up a cigarette. Alex saw me and immediately came up and kissed me. She introduced me to her friend whos name I couldnt pronounce. I think I called him something like "Poquito" which probably wasnt the best idea. HE then asked me if I knew Minnesota. I kept asking him to repeat what he said. When he showed me his Viking tatoo and I understood. Only reason I felt safe during this scenario was because I was with ALE. SHe told me to come over but I told her that We still had a good amount of beer left and she told me TO bring them across the street. I ran back over knowing I had left KEvin at the bar with no one in it for a good amount of time. "whats up man?" "I just met the scariest dude ever..." I told him and at first he just laughed at me but then kinda understood the situation. "ALe said we could bring our beers over to her shop" BOth of us really werent sure how it was going to work out charging across a part of the intersection with a glass mug and a liter of taquina but after the Waitress reaffirmed us
she said to get our change we had to return the bottles which was fair. Arriving Viking introduced himself to Kevin and asked him where he was from. "Boston" kevin replied. The guy was quite a character I could probably right like an entire 2000 words on the guy. HE entertained us so much that we actually started to enjoy his company but during the whole time were somewhat afriad. WEll viking departed from us and 2 other girls showed up at her shop. After some conversations and drinking, Kevin and I were in no condition to meet with my sister and Kens sister (ariselle) at the school along with the others like we were supposed to meet at the school at 7. Caroline kept calling along
with Ken but we prefered communicating with them via text message. The 2 girls were named "DAN I A" which I guess is Greek or something and another Daniellea. They were pretty cool but fairly unattractive. I excused myself to go to the restroom. Her restroom is terrible and theres no light. The sink also has a giant hole in the bottom so If you used it water would just pour on the floor. SO in the dark and fairly buzzed I came out of the bathroom greeted by some lady by the computer next to the bathroom that I had not met before. I said HOLA and walked back to my seat. Ale leaned over and told me that it was the Owner of the store. Thats not good I thought and standing up I knocked over the beer bottle and caused some disturbance. Great I thought and SOrt of in a way motioned my way out of her store along with Kevin and we made an escape. "that was the Owner of her shop man!" I told kevin and we made our way back to the bar to return our beers. He had no idea and was wondering what was up and when I told him he Understood what a fool he had been when the Owner came. AFter Kevin returned the beers and paid for them we walked down the street. Where are we going man? I kept asking and he really had no idea. Dont know But Im hungry he responded. We some how came across the Prado which is downtown and saw GLOBOS. "Ale told us that Globos was good remember" He said no but seeing the sign we both had some intense hunger. Walking into Globos we just sat down. Place was all lite up like whitecastle in that movie. Kevin ordered the Pique Macho which is like a classic in bolivia. ITs chorizo, carne, lettuce, Tomatoe all over fries. I ordered the nachos and was fairly disappointed with them because when I recieved them they were like upside down and too many beans. Somewhat of a Nacho soup. Both of us ordered Globos Whiskies which were also quite terrible. Kevin took a few bites and then told me that he couldnt eat his Pique Macho. Whats wrong man you gotta eat some I kept telling him but he didnt want any. AFter a little amount of time Kevin asked for the bill. Wondering where we were going to go next we got the cross streets and the name of the prado where everyone was sleeping and made our way via taxi after little discussion. The lady who served us wasnt happy thats for sure and almost looked at kevin with disgust. When we arrived at the NOche
sin Techo there was weird festival things going on and around 200 people I would say. saying our hello's we still had to make our way to my house to grab some pillows and sleeping gear so departed via trufi. Its really weird making an appearance at some event and then leaving. Getting to my house Kevin fell deep into conversation with my madre and we were at a stand still for about 20min. ALso note that Jose Luis while we were at Alex's shop had made an appearance and offered Kevin and I to go to quincollo the next city next to cochabamba. WE had actually been to messed up to think of leaving and its still a suprise how we managed to go to the event and then talk to my host mom. Getting gear for sleeping we really didnt want to sleep outside and the thought of partying with Jose Luis seemed out of reach but I still tried to call him. HE actually told me he was planning on going to sleep outside with us and would call us in 30min. Hearing this news our only option now was to go back to the event. Showing up this time we ran into ARiselle who Kevin did not want to see along with Cubelle and my sister Daniellea. There was events and comedians and weird dances I couldnt comprehend in my current state that went on untill midnight. AFter midnight I met some guys who played guitar and then sooner or later ended up jamming with them for several hours. We played american songs and Songs only heard in Bolivia that many sang along with. Good memories something I wont forget. Music is the universal language and the older I get the more I understand. IN a way its something we can all relate to. I ended up falling asleep on my pillow I brought and on a piece of cardboard. I lied next to the guitar group and Listened and listened to songs completely foreign to me. Waking up at 4am sort of, E didnt really sleep much, more of listened to music all night, some of the others were deciding to go home. I ended up catching a Cab with Kevin and not many words were spoken and we went to his house first then my house next. I went upstairs and fell straight asleep. Waking up at around 11amish I made my way downstairs and Mirza asked me what time I came home.
I have no idea I told her maybe 4 not sure. I texted Luis with my new phone I recieved last night. I recieved it yesterday at the noche sin techo when we ran into ariselle. Its alot cheaper just to buy a phone and a card then to install a card into my phone it appears. Around 25bucks with ten minutes. IF I want more minutes I have to buy them. NOw I have two phones which is weird. Luis kept telling us last night he was comming but by the end of it we knew he wasnt comming. I texted him something like "is there a party tonight? Are you alive?". He literally didnt
respond for like 3 hours and getting back to me just told me to go to Hotel COlonia at 930pm. Sweet there is a party and I spread the word around. If I recall correctly considering I was super tired and what not talking to Ken I asked him if he wanted to go to LA cancha because I Needed to buy headphones. He agreed to meet me at the school at like 3 after he was done doing what ever. I agreed ate breakfast took a shower and went back to sleep. Waking up I headed to the school hoping on the first trufi I could find and within the couple of hours I was trying to kill Ken showed up and we were on our way. La cancha has everything and understanding this adventure it is always an interesting outcome. WIth Ken was interesting just the two of us as we shared stories and he told me of his adventures to El Salvador. I also think we saw a dead person on the street. After about 3 hours in LA cancha and finding the computer section Ear budds seemed far out of reach. Some guy tried to trick me into buying a pair of non ipod earbudds saying that the Ipod ones wouldnt work and I bought some others. After going back I made my way home for dinner and started texting people trying to figure out who wanted to go to this party with me and what time. It ended up I was only meeting KEvin at the school at 830pm and we were going to do some prepartying. I showed Kevin this bar like across from the school that is somewhat hidden in the bamboo but was open. Taking the first available seats when we got in there some dude with one eye came up to us and started talking to us and shaking our hands. He apparently was speaking portuguese and when he found out we spoke little spanish he said something I cant remember in english then left. AFter our first Taquinas some huge guy probably the size of the both of us showed up and put his arm around kevin. I Noticed how unconfortable Kevin was getting and almost just bust out laughing. Fool was intense and soon enough 2 other dudes came up older like the past 2 and asked us if this big dude was getting in our way and then they told him to get lost and then both took a seat. They bought us some Huaris and we drank more and more. Caroline called me and said she wanted to go which was weird because I thought she was going
with KEn and AMy who werent going to the party. We told Caroline where we were and after meeting us and drinking with us we made our departure towards Hotel COlonia. Caroline, Kevin and I came up climbing out of the taxi to what appeared to be some huge club event. We called jose Luis and he came out greeted us and we bought a ticket from someone on the street which was fairly cheaper than trying to buy one for 80 at the door. Going inside I saw a table full of familiar faces with Ariselle, Cubelle, Danielle, Luis, and I greeted them all from a distance and All of a sudden Alex was there and she gave me a kiss. I still find these actions extremely awkward especially when others are watching that I havent kissed. Well we tried to combine the tables and we all waited for the Alcohol to arrive so we could start consumming. Lets just say the night was like a bunch of different scenes. There was a huge stage and when we first
arrived there wasnt really anyone inside but us. Apparently it cost like 3oo bolivianos to keep the tables so we all decided to stand up. WE all made our way to the middle of the dance floor and Jose Luis after a short amount of time passed came back with 2 bottles of Ron abuelo and we each payed like 20 bolivianos. The first drink I had I went to cheer with KEvin who had a really puzzled look on his face. "Dude Jose luis poured me a cup of Ron abuelo and WHen I showed it to him he asked me "oh you wanted coke with that?" hahaha we laughed. THe night was intense and I saw Alex's boyfriend dj. I also recall caroline pulling me up on stage and Me looking down at the crowd. In my drunken state I really shouldnt have been up there and there was an extreme fear of knocking something over. I also noticed one of the Lady DJ's staring at me which was so unwelcoming I wanted to get off the stage at that moment. APparently I fell asleep on the dance floor then sat down in a seat and fell asleep again. I guess I woke up and SHouted "quiero IR A MI CASA!" and caroline helped me into a taxi. I dont remember the taxi transaction
going down at all and Im just really glad I made it back to my bed. I woke up thinking what the hell happened? I had to piece back memory and memory to figure out what had happened the night previous and texted Kevin something like "Did you make it through the night?" I guess the only person awake was caroline who apparently kissed a girl last night I heard? haha. WEll waking up and eating some and going back to sleep I then LIed in bed for a good hour or so. I started texting people and from hearing from my mom that there was a bunch of stuff going on in the Prado I tried to get a group together to head down there and check it out. I decided at around 2pm that it was enough being lazy and hungover and time to investigate this particular day that was supposed to be without cars. THe first thing that went by me was a motorcycle Cop. INteresting I thought and then getting onto the main street I noticed a larger than average amount of people riding their bikes and walkin in the streets. AT one point on my walk to school
some little girl rammed her bike into me and fell over laughing. HAha kinda weird I thought and kept walking with my laptop in my backpack. THere was even a VOlleyball net across one half of the street and a soccer game comencing on the other. How was I going to get passed I thought and observing the games from the Island made my passing slowly. I went to the school and told everyone to meet me there and they did after about 2 hours. I hadent eaten anything and neither had KEvin and our main goal after waiting for KEn with caroline near the prado our hunger was taking over. Lets go to Globos we joked and then WIth Ken while walking down the main street ran into AMy
which was completely random. She chatted for a few and said she had to run some errands or something. WE went to this place Tunari and it wasnt serving food so we kept traveling. It was a beautiful day with a large amount of people constantly flowing in the streets. There were shops, giant FUn houses and Blow up coca cola Bottles and just a rare non normal day of sights. AFter walking some as hung over as I was Kevin and I ordered another Pique MAcho because we were the only ones hungry. Its interesting how while we are seated people come up to us trying to sell us gum, snacks, or cigarettes. after Kens beers and our meals we walked back to our homes and called it a day. It was like some day out of a book where cars ceased to exist and at 6pm when the word was out that people could drive again there were once again cars in the streets. I recall also running into John at the student center at our school thinking he might want to go with us to the prado like we were planning but he was uninterested and was trying to get a hold of his mom that was supposed to be comming in that day. Also note that at the rave last night
caroline was telling me that when the models were on stage I was shouting in english 'I LOVE YOU!" but I dont remember any of that until she reminded me and now I somewhat recall? I think its funnier that she kissed a girl ha.

You knew very well
WHo you are
Dont let them hold you down
Reach for the stars
You had a goal
But not that many
Cuz your the only one
Ill give you good and plenty
-Juicy
NOTORIOUS B.I.G.------Wonder what the original song is hes rapping over.

Advertisement



8th September 2010

bo-quit lying about my life on your blog... crazy night. cute picture of your family. love that luis is included!
9th September 2010

um?
I never lie cmon...what did I lie about?

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb