[this is your house]


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The other day, I met one of my next-door neighbors, a very pleasent, older man named Jorge. As I sat as his kitchen table, he offered me tea, bread, and cake - all of which I accepted. I sat at the table and spoke Spanish with him, his brother, and another student (the one Jorge is hosting). I felt so warm and welcome there in that kitchen. As I was leaving, Jorge said, If you ever need anything, or whenever you want to come here, come. This is your house.

When I got home, I had a nice conversation with my host mom. Having conversations in Spanish take a little less effort ever day. When I started to do the dishes, she said she could do them. I insisted and said, Cuando yo llavo los platos, yo siento como yo estoy a casa. She said, Tu estas a casa. Esta es tu casa

Two people in one night told me that their home was my home. That wouldn´t happen in the United States.

One cheap way to get around the cities in Bolivia is via a micro bus - 1.50 Bs (for comparison, $1 = 7.8 Bs). Do not allow yourself to make a mental reference to your local city bus, or to a Greyhound. There really is no comparison to be found between a micro bus and a Rochester city bus. Micros are much smaller, smaller than a school bus, and painted all kinds in funky designs and colors. I have thought (one more than one occassion) that a worthy photography project would be to document the many, many micro buses of Cochabamba.

So, yesterday, I was standing on a micro, on my way back home from downtown. And as my eyes wander, they connect with the eyes of another. My eyes continue to wonder. There is a small delay, but upon realizing that I have made eye contact with someone, my eyes return to their former position. After a second look, I see a little boy sitting on the floor in the front of the bus, in front of his mother. He is eating a snack and playing with his own hands and fingers - and still looking at me. He sticks his tounge out. I laugh. And then I stick my tounge out. He forms his mouth in a circle, lengthening his cheeks. I form my mouth in a circle, lengthening my cheeks. And so on. We play this game for a solid ten minutes before my stop comes. I make one last funny face, wave and say chao!

This encounter with a three (?) year old is one of my favorite encounters in Bolivia thus far. I want to play with him again.


Advertisement



14th July 2007

Thanks for sharing your wonderful descriptions Rach. For those of you non-Spanish speakers, Rachel said "When I wash the dishes, I feel as I am home." Her host mom replied "You are home. This is your home." (I think.)
17th July 2007

Our home is your home too!
Our home is your home too! Thank you so much for visiting with us old folks prior to your departure. Nancy showed me your blog site. Great to read your blog. We are praying for you. Your cousin Carson is staying with us now and will be with your parents soon. Love, Kerry Sr.
27th July 2007

Micro buses
Hi Rachel! I love reading your blog and youir descriptions. Please take some photos of the micro buses!! They sound so cool...Just nine different photos lined up in a square would make a great poster. We look forward to talking with you when you get back! Take care and lots of love. Aunt Kate

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb