good excuse for cake


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The fact that today is the fourth of july had not even crossed my mind. And if it had, i doubt i would have felt compelled to celebrate. But some people here at the institute planned una fiesta, and it was a lot of fun - a good excuse for cake. The site of fireworks against the stars is mesmerizing, lots of 'ohhhs´ and ´ahhhs.´

Bolivian miners, most from the Huanuni mine, have gone on strike in the city of Oruro (which I passed through this weekend). Over 1,000 miners have started roadblocks both in Oruru and in other cities, such as La Paz. Some students here had to change their weekend travel plans because buses cannot get through to La Paz. I do not fully understand the situation, I wish my Spanish were better so that I could better understand the news here. To my limited understanding, however, the miners want a decree, passed last year, to be turned into law. The decree gives full control of the Huanuni site to the state mining company Comibol and increased investment in the mine. These Bolivians really seem to know how to struggle.

Buenos noches amigas!

Advertisement



5th July 2007

Buenas Dias
Hi Rachel, sounds like you are really experiencing some interesting opportunies and insights!! It's fun to read your blog and I'm forwarding it to your Uncle Jan. Stay sweet and safe! Love, Nancy

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.6kb