A short trip to Sucre


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
November 25th 2005
Published: December 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunatley with this wedding in Chile in a few weeks I have run myself short of time. But I couldn´t leave Bolivia without seeing Sucre.
Sucre is probably the prettiest city in Bolivia. I hear it is very much like Santa Cruz, but unfortunately I have had to give that a miss too. It is (the town centre anyway) is very colonial and still painted it´s orginal white. It is very tranqual after La Paz, and I am pleased I came up for the weekend.

So I only have two days to see Sucre. And the stink thing is that one of those days is a sunday, and everything is closed, so really only have one day.

So Monday morning I took a trip out to a cement works where they have discovered the largest collection of Dinosaur footprints in the world. The foot prints are on a near veritcal slope of ash. The wall was once a lake bottom, but now with the coliding of the techtonic plates are now stright up. They look really small when viewed on the wall, like so cows went wandering through the lake shore. But once you get up close, they are much bigger than Elephant prints, and you can appreciate the size of these beasts. Any only in Bolivia can you touch Dino prints; everywhere else in the world is to anal to let you get anywhere near them. The site is losing prints every month with the errosion, but at the same time new prints are being uncovered with the rain. Really was an interesting trip.

In the afternoon I went to the house of the local tin barron. Unfortunately for me, this is in the process of restoration so I couldn´t enter the house but from the outside it looks like it would have been a nice place to live. It is a very interesting collection of styles.

And the really sad thing is my digital camera has broken down. So I have had to buy a real cheap film camera, so there won´t be too many photos for a while.

Now I am off to Tupiza, land of Butch Cassidy and the sundance kid.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

This is the reason This is the reason
This is the reason

for Sucre being the other capital of Bolivia.. the supreme court.
It´s not quite as goodIt´s not quite as good
It´s not quite as good

as the one in Paris, but the bolivian copy of the famous tower as a tribute to the Tin barron.
On this wall is the On this wall is the
On this wall is the

worlds largest collection of Dino prints. Unfortunately my closeup photos of the prints turned out bad, and have a lovely double exposure of the city of Tupiza over the top of them. I hate film cameras.


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb