I've got a new house...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
July 5th 2004
Published: July 5th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Me and Jimena, my new flatmateMe and Jimena, my new flatmateMe and Jimena, my new flatmate

This is in our kitchen and we are drinking "Mate"(pronounced matae), which is sort of like tea but you put the herb(yerba) in the special cup with hot water and drink it through a customized steel staw(bombilla). I'm going to miss Mate when I leave Argentina bacuase they don't really drink it anywhere else.
Well I've just moved into a new apartment with a friend who's boyfriend has just gone back to the states and can't afford the rent at the moment, so I'll probably stay with her for the last couple of weeks that I've got here in Córdoba before I shoot off to Chile. Other then then that no real big news, I'm finally making some good progress with my spanish though which is great, I've still a lot to learn but atleast now I can have a reasonably understandable conversation about most everyday stuff so big ups to my new "profi" Lorena! 😊
On the weekend I went on a quick roadtrip with my friend Fabricio who was going to visit his family who live in the "wine capital" of Argentina, a city called Mendoza, it was great. Didn't get to see much of the city because we only had two days and a lot of family to visit(as per the fotos) and a lot of quality food and wine to consume, but his brother took me to the city park one afternoon which was really beautiful. Lots of trees and lawn and happy familys and there was a nice big lake in the middle of it with some cool as old steamboat on
Me and CharlieMe and CharlieMe and Charlie

Charlie works in this little shop right next door to my old apartment and I used to go and have a beer and a game of chess with him whenever I was sick of studying.
it. Awesome, awesome... The city is right beside the Andes moutain range so it's quite a bit colder then here in Córdoba, but good thing about that is that it has some quality ski-fields so I'm planning on stopping by on my way through to Chile for a spot of Snowboarding. mmmmmmmmm


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Fabricio's Family in MendozaFabricio's Family in Mendoza
Fabricio's Family in Mendoza

Waving to New Zealand. All the cuzzies came around for luch on Sunday because Fabricio doesn't visit too often. Really nice family!
Fideos caserosFideos caseros
Fideos caseros

This is mum and Dad making home made pastas for lucnch, they have Italian ansestry so they've got it pretty well sussed. We ate very well that day


Tot: 0.52s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 122; dbt: 0.1553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb