Day 9, 10, 11 - La Plata


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina
May 1st 2005
Published: May 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

An Irish Wedding:

It may seem a bit strange for one to attend a family reunion of sorts in Argentina, with Irish relatives one has not seen for nearly a lifetime. However, I did indeed do so, and it turned out to a unique and exciting experience. My Irish cousin David, whom I had last seen nearly thirty years ago, married a very nice Argentine girl named Roxanne, and my wife and myself had the honor of attending their wedding. It was held near the place of their intended home, La Plata - a relatively small but vibrant city near Bueno Aires. Getting there turned out to be a bit of an adventure, due in part to our casual attitude towards public transport. Dina and I took the old train that runs out of Buenos Aires to La Plata, and beyond. I think mosdt Argentines consider this to be a crude form of transport, and even a little dangerous. However, we encountered nothing too scary, although I made sure that I kept my digital camera tucked well out of sight. Upon arriving at the station, we made our way to the Hotel (corregdor?) that my cousin had reserved for us, as well as his immediate family members and friends whom had flown in for the wedding. Consequently, I also got to see my uncle Michael and his wife, Mary, as well as my Cousin Adrian and her older brother Michael. We got to sit and chat with the group of them, at the end of the night for the three days that we stayed at the hotel. Our meetings also included my cousin David and his wife, and his friends too, all of which were of excellent character. I have to admit that I was initially uptight, but the entire event seemed to go fine. If Dina and myself make another big trip in the near future, chances are good that it will include a visit to Ireland so that we can see everybody again...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb