Patagonia Ushuia to Rio Grande


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hostal MalvinasHostal MalvinasHostal Malvinas

The start of the trip. Very nervous. Hoping my bike does not collapse in front of the man from the hotel who is watching me.
Arrived in Ushuaia via Frankfurt and Buenos Airies. Spent the flight from Frankfurt explaining to the nice German couple next to me what I was going to do. Thought I had made a reasonable job of it but at the end of the flight they asked me, via another German passenger, if I was a sailor. Apparently the flight is full of German sailors all on their way to Ushuaia. What fun.

Weather was good in the evening I arrived in Ushuaia but turned grey the day after. Spent two days in Ushaia in the very agreeable Hostal Malvinas. Activities undertaken in Ushuaia included: lurking in my limited wardrobe in the main street; eating pleasant continental breakfasts whilst watching the English FA Cup replay highlights; and turning my room into a temporary bikeshop.

Decided to hit the road on Thursday. Donned my Santa Claus style waterproofs and it fel really good to be just on the road at last despite the rain. Stayed the night in the village of Tolhuin and then spent the net day riding to the town of Rio Grande. Weather much better and spent a good stretch of the day cycling next to the Atlantic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

On the road on PatagoniaOn the road on Patagonia
On the road on Patagonia

Took this photograph after having eaten a light al fresco lunch of cheese and tuna sandwiches on top of a small hillock.


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb