Back from the Antarctic


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well my expedition voyage is over and I have lived to tell the tale.

Overall the trip was amazing.

The wildlife especially in South Georgia is staggering.

We had some good weather and some bad weather. I can recall on the third night out around the Falkland Islands about 9.30pm hanging on for dear life in my bunk for about two hours trying to prevent myself ending up on the floor. But that was not the norm and overall you get use to the motion of the ship. Makes it hard to sleep some nights however, you have to lay on your back. I took some pills for the days of open ocean crossings and they pretty much did the trick and I never got sick.

Some people were medicated every day of the trip and were still sick.

It is going to take me a few days to get over the rocking feeling I think.

The trip across the Drake to end the trip was very smooth.

Corinne will be with me tomorrow and we set out on the next leg through South America. Will probably update the blog and check emails at least weekly from now on.

Hope all is going well with everyone back home.

I have included a few of the images from the trip so far.

Feel free to leave comments.

Cheers

Brett



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



24th January 2007

WOW WOW WOW
What else can one say, if all your photos are that good the slide night might be a trilogy. Must say my best photo is the one of Steeple Jason Island and Albatros, there is this photo of a guys I can not wait to get my hands on mmmmmmm. Only hours to go until I wil do just that. Photos look great sweetheart, can not wait to see nay more they are all so clear. Love Corinne
24th January 2007

Reunion
Hello - i loved the photo's, especially 'The Kings'. that would be a great view to have off your verandah. I hope the reunion between you 2 went well. Don't post any photos of that. Love Eva
24th January 2007

Fantastic photos mate, sounds like an awesome trip and a once in a lifetime experience! Look forward to more blogs!! Have Fun, Heather
24th January 2007

Welcome back to terra firma
Some awesome pix - looking forward to the coffee table book and a slideshow night! Glad you made it back to shore in one piece, and by the sounds of it you enjoyed pretty good weather for the most part. Enjoy the reunion with the missus and don't forget the pink g-string for Carnivale ;-)
25th January 2007

Amazing!
Hi Brett, Totally amazing photos. I have shown them to a photography buff at work and he was thrilled to see them. He will come to your exhibition and bring a few friends too. Glad to hear you are finally on solid ground again. The boat sounds like an ordeal I could truly live without! I would still be swaying a month after I got off the boat! I was getting seasick just reading your comments. By now you and Corinne should have met up. Try to get out and see something of BA, etc., rather than the hotel room walls, floor, ceiling, etc.! Look forward to seeing more photos. Take care and have fun! Love Roz and Luke. xx
14th June 2009

Wonderful photos.
Wonderful photos and a charming blog. Thank you! J.

Tot: 0.419s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb