Rosario . . . the birthplace of the Argentine flag!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Fe » Rosario
March 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I first got to Argentina, I didn't really have plans to go to Rosario. Not that I wasn't interested, but the guidebooks seem to skip over Rosario, and I didn't meet many other backpackers that were heading that way. However, in Patagonia, I met two different hostel workers that both insisted I go see Rosario (where they were originally from). Then, in Ushuaia, I was sharing a room with a girl from Rosario, who insisted that I go to Rosario. She said she LOVED her city, everything about it was amazing, and that I must go. Decision made!

I managed to find an incredibly cheap last minute flight out of Ushuaia to Buenos Aires. The only catch was that it landed in Buenos Aires at two in the morning. I landed in Buenos Aires, got my bags, and then sat it out at the airport until about six in the morning. Although there's buses from B.A. to Rosario as early as 4 in the morning, I decided that hanging out in Retiro bus station, one of the most notorious bus stations in South America, was not a good idea. So, had a cup of coffee and a couple of medialunas and sat it out. Got onto a bus to Rosario and caught a cab to Che Pampas hostel, which was amazing. I've stayed in my fair share of hostels, and this place was great, don't think I've ever met a friendlier staff before.

Spent four nights in Rosario. Rosario is an absolutely beautiful city. Its the birthplace of the Argentine flag, and there's a huge monument to the flag close to the water. There's also a lot of colonial architecture, as well as nice plazas, great restaurants and really fun nightclubs down by the water.

I spent my time there visiting the flag monument, the art museum, the Malvina's Monuement (NOT the Falkan's Monument) and checking out two really fun nightclubs. I also started shopping in Rosario. Ladies, the fashions in Argentina are really fun, and a lot more affordable than North America.

It was so hot in Rosario (probably about 40 degrees). Because of this, the power in the hostel and other parts of the city kept on going out. But, it was still a really great city and worth a visit! A lot of people I talked to really like Rosario because its just as beautiful as the capital, yet a bit more slower paced. After a few days, it was time to head back to Buenos Aires and get on a bus to Florianopolis in Brasil. Stay tuned!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb