First Day With My Host Mother


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Fe » Rosario
March 25th 2010
Published: March 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and met with my soon to be professors today. Also took the Spanish placement test and ended up in the second year level, exactly where I wanted to be. After the test, we all met our host families. I am going to be living with a Cristina Pellejero for the next three months. She seems like a nice woman. We spent a couple hours talking in Spanish and I was extremely happy with how well we were able to communicate with eachother. There were still many words that I didn´t understand, but we were able to work out the spots where we couldn´t understand eachother.

She lives in a section of the city that is very close to the river parana and I am very excited to go to the river again tomorrow and walk up and down it. However, before I can do that, I have classes at 9 AM tomorrow morning. I will be taking 4 different classes here: a spanish conversation class, a spanish grammar class, a peace and conflict resolution class, and a global justice class. I met my peace and conflict resolution and global justice professor today and he tells me that I am his only student in the global justice class and that there are 5 other students in the peace and conflict class. He wants to make the global justice class less formal now since I am the only one in it. He says we will most likely discuss issues over a cup of coffee or something similar. However, he doesn´t know how much we will get done early in the classes as all of his textbooks were confiscated at the border by customs, most likely for their content.

I was unable to get wireless internet in my room in the apartment, so I am currently writing in a small internet cafe down the street from the apartment. I am still very surprised at how little things cost here. A half hour on this computer is going to cost me about 2.5 pesos, or about 50 cents. I have two minutes left even though i started maybe about 20 minute ago... Ah Argentina.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb