Almost forgot my birthday


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Fe » Rosario
May 20th 2009
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday to Me!Happy Birthday to Me!Happy Birthday to Me!

I had would not have know that it was the twentieth if I hadn´t walked by this
Haha seriously. I have a funny picture and it is the only reason I remembered my birthday was today. I´m sure I would have figured it out once I got to the computer but I guess otherwise... my mind must be in other places. We are here in Rosario a popular tourist destination (well not now but usually) its a beautiful city with nice pedestrain walkways and bolevards. We just came from Sante Fe´and as I said wasn´t even in our 1300 page book. But it actually turned out to be very nice. A small, city where it seemed the "rich man, and poor man, live right next to eachother...". After mentioning to the very nice plump man behind our hotel counter that I loved the houses here, but it seemed that the nice ones were always next to a bad if not falling apart ones. He was very nice, after we ate dinner in the resturante that was connected to the hotel he asked us how it was (he didn´t speak much english) and I told him the truth, that is was bad and he (and us) had a good laugh about it. Most the food we have is always good, but there´s no reason to get upset when its bad. Expesially when you couldn´t tell them why, and even if you could they still wouldnt change.
I have been having a hard time being motivtated this time around. I have lots of time to think on these 12, 16, 18 hour bus rides, and I have come to sort of a conclusion. I have no idea what I am doing down here. In Europe everyone knows what they want to go see. In Asia it was pretty much the same. But here, where is here. I´ve never heard of this place till yesterday and now I´m trying to figure out why it should matter. I like Randy´s philosophy on it. Ignorance. I dont´want to be ignorant of whats down here or live in my bubble and routine at home. I´ve heard of only a few things down here and I find myself rushing to get to them so I can be "Amazed" "Awed" or whatever. I can´t just stop and enjoy the journey. In Europe everything of importance its right next to eachother. I mean the National Museum in London has some of the most amazing things from around
Protest! Protest! Protest!

This is like our fourth protest we have seen so far in South America.
the World. But what about Sante Fe´? Or Rosario? I don´t know. Or at least I didn´t. I want to be able to take everything in as the Whole Experiance. Just becuase no one I have ever met before this trip knew what is special in Sante Fé, Argentina, doen´t mean its not amazing and just waiting to be found. And too be honest, its hard to find. Just walking around you wouldn´t know, just seeing the circles on the map that the Tourist Information lady drew, doesn´t mean you know. I´m not sure if I can tell you either. I´m not sure if I found what makes Santa Fé "Amazing" or "Awe inspirering," but I think seeing it, experianceing it, and talking to the people of it, gave me a better look than most. I hope on this trip I can learn what really traveling means, or at least what it means to me. Becuase I think until know I have been wrong.
Hope you enjoy the pictures, and thanks for the Birthday wishes and everything else!
PS- Added some new photos to the old post so check them out


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Dont feed the AnimalesDont feed the Animales
Dont feed the Animales

Zoo´s are not like in America. These people eat with (they throw their left overs at them :) the animales at this zoo
DylanDylan
Dylan

They like me down here
Randy and MeRandy and Me
Randy and Me

Taken by nice man from Paraguay
Protest numero unoProtest numero uno
Protest numero uno

Buenos Aires
High upHigh up
High up

Randy gets his high up view he has been asking for
Local BeerLocal Beer
Local Beer

Just doing some free advertizing for the local brew
Las PampasLas Pampas
Las Pampas

The great plains of South America. Can´t believe theres not a train system here. So nice and flat. Could be like Japan and have super fast ones or something instead of these busés


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb