Waving Flags


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Santa Fe » Rosario
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monument a la BanderaMonument a la BanderaMonument a la Bandera

And a close up
So, after leaving Buenos Aires, I had 3 weeks to spend before I wanted to be back there for yet more football. Just about enough time to check out Rosario, Cordoba and Uruguay thought I. And so this first leg took me just 4 hours from BA to Rosario, famous for being the birthplace of Che Guevara.

Now, I'm no communist, but this Guevara fellow seems rather popular, so I thought it was only right to see what the city had to offer in this respect. And at first glance, it seemed OK, apparently there was a monument to him in a park just outside the centre, and it was also possible to visit the house where he was born. So now, here comes my warning to anyone going to Rosario for Guevara tourism. Don't. The monument is a bit rubbish, and covered in graffiti, whilst his old house is an insurance office, with just a red sign outside telling you where you are. Pah.

With regards to sightseeing, a lot more impressive is the Monument a La Bandera, or the flag monument, to those of you who aren't quite as silver tounged as me when it comes to castellano. By day, its a large stone tower, with a side room that holds flags for all the Latin American countries. But by night, this stone tower lights up in the colours of the Argentine flag. I'm going to risk my mother's, and the grammar police's ire here, when I suggest that it did look rather nice.

On my final day in Rosario, I'd planned to watch England vs Ukraine in the hostel with the other English folk that were staying there. Unfortunately, 10 minutes in, a huge group of Argentinians (including the owner) barged in and demanded to watch the Argentina vs Bolivia game. Put out, we searched Rosario for a while for an Irish bar that might be showing England, but eventually gave up, but had the amusing consolation of watching Bolivia put 6 past the hapless Argies. Needless to say, we returned to the hostel feeling a little bit smug.

And that was Rosario. Whilst not really being a place that makes you go "Wow" its definitely a cool city to spend some time in. Just avoid SeƱor Guevara.

Stewart


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Perhaps I'm still 13Perhaps I'm still 13
Perhaps I'm still 13

Well it made me laugh that all Newells Old Boys shirts have this on them.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb