salta es la linda


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the long trek norththe long trek norththe long trek north

depart Malargue midnight tuesday, arrive Salta afternoon friday. beautiful vistas, comfy bus, great movies, the best way to 2 1/2 days on a bus.
The trek north from Malargue, Mendoza province, to Salta City, Salta province, was epic. I opted for 1st class, and comfortably appreciated the beautiful drive along the andes to the north of Argentina. I arrived 2 ½ days later in Salta, found a decent hostel and took a nap. Salta is the best preserved colonial town in Argentina, with beautiful streets, parks and café´s. I visited two museums, the best being the Museo de Archologia de Alta Montagña, which has on exhibit three mummified children from a 500 year old Inca burial site, found in 1999, 6,000 meters up on the side of a volcano (www.maam.org.ar). It´s very cold in Salta, requiring all the clothes I brought even in the early afternoon. Salta is a bustling city of 500,000 and the largest city in northern Argentina. A little history -- After the battle of Salta in 1813 the territory was freed from Spain, but occasional attacks occurred from the Viceroyalty of Peru until 1826. Gervasio de Posadas created the Salta Province in 1814, covering the current provinces of Salta, Jujuy, part of the South of Bolivia and the North of the Chile. Due to some internal conflicts after the Argentine independence,
yet another fiestayet another fiestayet another fiesta

this time, the local Quelcha tribe danced and sung adorned in colour and texture.
Bolivia annexed Tarija in 1826. In 1834 Jujuy separated from Salta and becomes a province of its own. In 1900 Salta loses Yacuiba to Bolivia. I opted for a one day tour to the south of the province, to the town of Cafayata (pronounced cafashate), to the worlds highest vineyards and some interesting geological formations. The drive was beautiful, something like the grand canyon mixed with nevada and southern alberta. I tried some wine ice cream, bought some wine honey (made from the pulp) and ate a killer goat stew. Back in Salta city I was lucky enough to be taken out not once but two nights by not one but two different groups of Argentine girls on their winter holidays from university. I tried all the local food, the local beer, and thoroughly enjoyed the music at the feña (a bar, restaurant, theatre where traditional music is played). I really lucked out with my timing this trip, every city I seem to visit is celebrating some event meaning lots of parties and lots of people. Yeah Salta! Next is the province of Jujuy before I leave Argentina for Bolivia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

natural gas.....natural gas.....
natural gas.....

they have an interesting practice here for fuelling up. everybody has to get out of the car as natural gas (in gas form) quickly fills the tank.


5th September 2006

I 've taken that picture! (salta)
Hi Brian, so how did you spend that days in Bolivia? I think well, nice pictures... Well now you must be in Canada, don't you? What are you doing this days over there? I give you my e-mail (again) if you want to answer me. Is "patopm@hotmail.com" I send you my best wishes. Patox
6th September 2006

only you
Hey man! I appologize for taking so long to make this comment man but I wanted to say how cool it was that you are managing to take everything in in such a sshort time! Everything from the food (of course being your favourite), the history, and even the women! Love ya man and talk to you soon. Holl

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 76; dbt: 0.096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb