Tilcara, Jujuy Province to Uyuni, Bolivia.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Jujuy » Tilcara
August 7th 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Tilcara, Jujuy late at night having luckily made a reservation at the beautiful Hostel Malka. After walking around at night of a very unfamiliar place, I found the hostel and settled in for a nap before I found some grub. And grub did I find! A huge steak, 4 empanadas (pastry filled with spicy meat, cheese or egg famous in this part of argentina), and a ½ litre of wine. The restaurant was beautiful, but the good memories didn´t last long. What I had neglected to consider was the 1500 or so meters I had climbed from Salta, meaning a lower functioning digestive system. The dinner was rather rich, and I suffered for the next 2 days. I celebrated the halfway point of my trip from bed, sipping on flat coca cola, the only thing I could keep down. Whoa! A lesson I had to learn, don´t eat rich food until you are accustomed to the altitude. The town of Tilcara, once I had built up the energy to see it, was absolutely beautiful. A fascinating down historically, having been populate since 10,000 BC, and an important fort for peoples of the late period (1480´s ad) and the
the view from the breakfast tablethe view from the breakfast tablethe view from the breakfast table

the little town of Tilcara
brief inca period. The town has an inca fortress, accessible to the public and situated in a very strategic place high on a cactus armed hill. I´ve never felt so huge in my life, barely being able to get inside the fort´s barracks and easily seeing over the walls. From the fort you can see huge distances in all directions. I leave Tilcara on a bus bound for the Argentine border town of Villason, where I will cross into Bolivia. Many thanks to the kind people at hostel Malka for their TLC, there are few better places to be sick.

I entered Bolivia the way most people enter Bolivia, walk across a long bridge and get your passport stamped. Upon entering the country there is little different, lots of places to change currency, busy markets and taxis everywhere asking if you need a ride. I took a ride to the train station, to find I had 3 hours to kill before the train to uyuni. I found a phone to tell mom I was alive in Bolivia, found a great little restaurant and ate some more goat stew. The train was pleasant, of course they had run out of
a town of little peoplea town of little peoplea town of little people

remember, I´m barely 5´9.
seats in the 3rd and second class, so I had to pay the mighty sum of 8 dollars for the executive car. Hilarious 80´s latin music videos, a rather illegal copy of the new superman movie, some yogurt and a dusty but nice 12 hour ride to Uyuni. Met some fellow solo travelers and communicated via the ever-popular ´franco-italo-spanglish´, a language I´m proving to be rather adept at using. The train was similar to one I took from New Delhi to Amritsar, very Raj, with odd uniforms and holes in the bathroom floor for #1´s and #2´s. I made it to Uyuni late at night, again luckily having made a reservation beforehand. A cold bed, and colder room, I wore all my clothes, plus scarf, toque (thank you julie), jacket and mitts.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th August 2006

is great this pleace!!!!!
i hope you enjoy this earth with PACHAMAMA!!!!! kISSSSSSSSSSSS Foxy Roxy...

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb