It´s so-oo nice to bee heeere aga-a-ain...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shortarse...Shortarse...Shortarse...

...with comedy cartoon cacti
Don´t cry for me, Argentina,
The truth is I neeeever left you....

Yeah, whatever. Anyways, here I is, and it´s even better than I remembered. I love the way the Taxi driver´s talk to you. I love the way the people who work in Bars, cafes, restaurants, youth hostels, ets, are all friendly and smiley and chatty and helpful. I love the way they all seem to understand my Spanish, without looking at me like I have mental problems and needing me to repeat myself 2 or 3 times before grudgingly revealing that they may understand afterall. I love that I can go sit outside a bar on the town square full of palms and aronge trees, and get a coffee, the best pizza I´ve had since, well, since I left BsAs, and a lovely big cold tasty beer all for 3 quid. I love that the coffe always comes with a little biscuit, and a small glass of sparkling water with which to cleanse your pallet. I love that I can go to an artesanal market, and each stall has it´s own unique items to sell, instead of the same old tat as everyone else (although the dried lama
7-coloured hill...7-coloured hill...7-coloured hill...

...see them all?!
foetuses in La Paz were admittedly quite a novel touch). And that you don´t get mobbed the moment you go near past a stall, with claims of pretty t-shirts, blankets, scarfs, hats, gloves, finger puppets... And the ever faithful "but it´s baby alpacaaaaa....." AHHHHH! I love that I´ve come from Bolivia, a place with possibly the ugliest women and worst beer in South America (so you think twice about drink to improve the women.....), to a place with some of the best of both.

I hate that I´m gonna have so little time here, and that I didn´t give myself far more time to properly explore this great country. Ah well, next time.....

So, Salta. Really nice, chilled city. Great climate. Could definitely spend a good couple weeks there. How´s about 2 days instead?! Wandered the city the first day, went on a tour the second, to a hill with 7 colours, some indigenous ruins, and some traditional villages. Very pleasant. Fuel warning light came on in our tour car. Strike in petrol stations. All very worrying as I had to get back for my bus at 9. Luckily the fuel guage just broke. Got lovely warm comfortable
Salta...Salta...Salta...

...from above
overnight bus to Cordoba. Reasonably tasty Ravioli dinner, two glasses of vino tinto and one of whisky all included. Add buses to things I love...

So here I am. Seems nice too. Bit cloudy today, never mind. Nice mexican couple in my dorm. When the guy was out the room, the gal complained that it´s a city full of women and there´s no guys for her to check out. When the gal was out the room, the guy started talking about all the beautiful women here. Pleased to report, they´re not wrong.

Right, I´m off. Piccies of stuff when my battery is charged, plus any more on Cordoba.

In the words of the great John Wo, Peace and be Wild.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

More...More...
More...

...comedy cartoon cacti
Nice building...Nice building...
Nice building...

...in Salta
Nice park...Nice park...
Nice park...

...in Salta


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb