Salta


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
July 14th 2016
Published: July 22nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I just used Salta as a hub for visiting Tilcara to the north, Cafayate to the south, and Cachi to the west. The city is comfortable and pretty and genuine, with countless food stalls near the long park by the bus station.

There's a teleférico that goes up a big hill for nice views and a parallel trail that's a 40-minute stair hike.

To make up for the unavoidably expensive taxi in Iguazu, I walked to and from the airport in Salta. There was a bike trail along the road most of the way and it took about 2 1/2 hours. But when I got into town I realized I had no idea how to get to my hostel. I asked for directions from a guy walking his dog and, in typical Argentinian style, he offered to walk me there, even though it was a good 20 minutes. Lucas was an elementary music teacher and I think I understood enough of what he was saying to decline an offer to watch his band perform somewhere in the outskirts that night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb