Quickie in Salta


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
September 12th 2012
Published: September 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So Salta was just a stop off really, to reak up the incredibly long journey to BA to met Sara. Sofia went all the way through in one go. About 30 hours i think. Hard to the core. But as I was in no real rush I had me a break.

The main goal of the stop off was to not do anything that Sara might want to do when we got back here later. Unfortnately I failed in that mission thanks to stumblng on the MOST AMAZING STEAK I{VE EVER HAD. Ahem. Given I don{t really eat steak. not a particularly tall order I must admit, but I was with other people (yep, i made me some friends), 2 of whom were big steak eating men, and they concurred it was amazing. I mean it was huge. The photo i got was terrible so I can{t really show you, but in my memory it was about 2 inches thick and the size of a plate. You share 1 between 2, but we pretty much couldn{t shared 1 between the 4 of us! With some chips and some salad (we really didn{ need either, but you never really believe how big something is going to be!), a few beers, and a tip it was still only $20 US each.

If all steaks were like that, I{d probably eat them. In other news, we stayed up till like 2am! Wowsers! Very late night for me on this trip! We even had a few drinks with the "youths" in our hostel who were prepping for a night clubbing - noone goes out till 2am in Argentina darling. Which basically meant we didn{t go out. Old and proud.

Ha, the other thing was, out of my 3 new buddies, 2 of them were a couple - her from Clacton and him from Marlybone, while the other guy, lives in wanstead, and actually works out the school literally 5 minutes away from my parents house. Small world eh? I told him he had to be my friend. I will be hanging out for an invite to the Village pub quiz, teachers table of course.

Tut, just remembered i made some notes on my ipod.... I can{t be arsed to edit, I{m an in the moment type of typist, so we{ll just back track a little bit.... well it was just to say really how absolutely stunning the bus ride was! But, as I am actually about a month on from this, I{ve been on a lot of stunning bus rides! Plus, we actually do these a bit more indepth later, when we come back to salta and hit up Huamahuaca, Purnamarca, Tilcara and then Cafayate... so you{ll just have to wait till i get round to that. At this rate might be another few months.... depends how long I{m unemployed for!

The other weird thing I learnt by actually talking to other backpackers, was that everyone else seems to do it so differently from us! I took them to the market for dinner, standard for Sofia and I, grab some empanadas, humitas, flamin hot tamaaaaaaales, whatevers going. The others had never done that! They didn{t even know what empanadas were. It was weird. I guess me and Sofia do have a quite specific travel objective, to do what the locals do. I mean obviously we go and see as much as possible, but we are generally broke, and we eat what everyone else is eating, and tallk to the locals as much as possible. Maybe its because we ca both speak some spanish, maybe its just how we roll... but I like our way better. Frankly, I go out and get pissed with my mates at home all the time - doing it in another country, with strangers, isn{t that thrilling for me. Anyway, self-important rant over.

Next!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb