the longest bus ride ever through the northwest provinces... or how i spoke spanish to the lady next to me...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Stop worrying people! I'm fine! I am, once again, functioning off of maybe six hours of sleep in the past three days. This is not good. I'm going to write about my bus trip and then head to bed after a hot shower. Today was so awesome, you're going to love reading about it. The title of it will be: How a city girl treks through Gargantua del Diablo in street clothes off of 20 minutes of sleep at lightning warp speed. Not even kidding!

So my bus ride to Salta left at 8:30. But it didn't really leave until 9. Argentines tend to run late. Leaving the hostel was bittersweet because the owner Claudio was a blessing! Seriously, if it weren't for him, I probably would have been lost in the hospital. Everyone else at the hostel was also warm and friendly. There were a good group of people there, and I got to get sleep, so that was fun. The best night was when we were all making dinner together and watching American TV with subtitles (that's how i'm learning spanish grammar...), but I think I might have already talked about that.

My bus from Salta had waaaaay too many stops. On the first part of the bus, I sat alone and it was SO nice to have two seats to myself. I love being on the bus by myself because it gives me a moment to actually think about what has happened, instead of just in constant motion. We pulled into so many bus stations. I think I really have seen every single bus station on the way from Mendoza to Salta. That's why it took about 20+ hours.

On the second part of my trip, a woman was sitting next to me. I hate having people sit next to me... not because I don't like having people sit next to me, but I have the problem of wanting the window seat, but having a small bladder. I hate asking people to move for me. The woman ended up switching seats with the guy sitting behind me. Okay. BIG GUY sitting behind me. Let's just say my semi-cama bus seat was even smaller. I tried to sleep, and seriously just squeezed myself against the cold window. Luckily, I had thermals, wool socks, a tshirt, fleece, sweatshirt and jacket all surrounding me. I didn't want my bronchitis to get worse, so I just stayed warm the whole time. The best part of the trip might have been the movie, and how everyone didn't understand it. It was Chicago. I would have liked something more mellow, but honestly, it reminded me of Gina and the night we all went to see her perform in Chicago and drove in the wrong direction with Joe's GPS and sat sporadically through the theater because we were all so late. It wasn't really the movie that made the bus ride, it was remembering those good times with the people I love! (okay, I'm getting sappy...)

When we woke up, I was in Catamarca. A huge flood of people left the bus, and others came on, including the nicest woman I had ever met in my life. At this time, the sun was rising and I must say it might have been one of the most amazing sunrises in my life (although, this sunrise doesn't count as getting crossed off the 101 things list. I think i need to sit and enjoy the sunrise/sunset for it to be crossed off... preferably like over the golden gate bridge on a boat if anyone is interested...). Since I had slept for most of the night, I stayed up and watched the province, which was a huge farming province. I don't know what inspired a conversation, but the woman next to me just started talking to me, and we spoke in Spanish. She was very very forgiving and when I told her I didn't understand something, she sat there and explained it in every detail to make sure that I knew the word she was talking about. She told me about the sugar farms, sugar refineries, the tobacco farms and the alcohol farms. We also talked about our lives and where I was traveling and where we were both from. At the end of our time together, I didn't feel afraid anymore to speak spanish. It felt really refreshing actually. It helps when people try and speak to you, like they did in Mendoza. (Oh, btw, I was trying to read the map in Mendoza and had this guy follow me for about 20 minutes. It sucks looking like a tourist and trying to read a map. Good thing from the guy following me? We had a conversation in Spanish until I got kinda freaked out and headed in the other direction).

At the end of the trip, she was transfering to JuJuy because she works in JuJuy and visits her family in Catamarca, where she was born. I was staying on the bus. She made sure that I stayed on the bus. She also gave me a gift-- gloves. I felt bad not giving anything to her. She told me it was a pleasure to meet me and talk to me and then invited me to have dinner or lunch at her house if I am ever in JuJuy. We finally told each other our names. Patricia from Catamarca might be the nicest woman I have ever met.

One bad thing about that bus ride? The food. Gross sandwiches. And the movie. Why would you show a (I think) Japanese movie with spanish subtitles that are so small no one can really read them anyway? Oh. And it was totally violent. Luckily, I just stared out the window for most of the time.

During that transfer period, there were two guys behind me that sounded incredibly confused. At this point, I had talked to so many people that I decided to turn and talk to them. This usually would have never happened before (see I'm growing!). I asked them where they were going, and they were heading to Salta. I told them to stay on the bus. We actually were staying at the same hostel, which was nice because I had no idea how to actually get to the hostel once I got off the bus. I didn't plan all that far in advance.

I also didn't plan for the weather either! Being in thermals, jeans, wool socks, and a long sleeve tshirt does not make for good walking in Salta-- which was about 70 or 80 degrees (think socal heat). By the time I got to our hostel, I went into my room and changed my clothes immediately. I must admit. It was sooo nice to feel the sun-- I mean really feel it.

After checking into the room and getting a tour, there were a few things next on our list. Shower. Food. it was that simple. So the Irish guys invited me to get food with them, since we had both been on buses for an incredibly long time. I think the funniest comment was from Marcus when he said that I was a democrat because I could carry a conversation. I wonder what the world thinks about Americans...

Something that I have learned from this trip so far is that everyone is incredibly intrigued by American Politics. In every city, almost every night, I have had conversations about American Politics. It helps that I taught it to the students and read every single Time magazine cover to cover. It made me seem much more intelligent about politics than I actually am.

Also, lots of people have things to say about the state of education. It's a good thing I'm a teacher!

The next day, I headed out with Evin, a girl in my dorm who looked so similar to a girl I grew up with. It was freaky. Stay tuned for: Walking around Salta and how I bared my soul to a stranger over shredded beet root and carrots at New Time cafe for three hours.

Miss you guys. I'm doing well. Promise. Just a little tired.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb