Bar-B-Q at our house - 'El Asado para los jovenes'


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CheeseCheeseCheese

Getting prepared for dinner
Thursday night was a bit of a mad one to say the least. As my niece, Antonella is heading back to Cordoba on Saturday as that's where she studys, we decided it was a good excuse to have a Bar-B-Q at our house for the youngsters. (i.e. all of my nieces and nephews and their significant other halves). So after I finished a few hours of private tuition at the house I started running around getting everything prepared before the boys came home to light the fire. Setting the table, pulling extra chairs out from the house, making salads, preparing snacks. I did it all. In the middle of all this I had to shower, change and continue thrashing away at cutting up tomatoes and onions for my salsa appetiser. Thank god for food processors!!

Around 9pm Sergio and Carlitos arrived home from the supermarket with what looked like a weekly shop. I hastenly reminded Sergio that there were only 9 of us and wondered if he'd promised to feed half of Salta without my knowledge. After a few blank looks and a shrug of the shoulders the boys deserted their bags and headed out to start the fire. Boys
Kity & MajoKity & MajoKity & Majo

peeling potatoes
will be boys.

So I was left to sift through the copious amount of supermarket bags that had been left on the kitchen floor and pack everything away before continuing with my salsa. Jorge was the first to arrive at 9:30pm and helpfully assisted me with the last of the bags before heading outside to see the boys. Around 10pm Maria Cristina (or Kity as she's more popularly known) and her boyfriend, Martin arrived. Kity helped me prepare one of the salads while I was finishing off my salsa, and yes, you guessed it, Martin headed out to see the boys. Antonella and Maria Jose (or Majo as she's more popularly known) arrived soon after and immediately started helping with the rest of the salads and preparing the potatoes.

Once everything was prepared we all headed outside to see what was going on and to chill out while we waited for the food to cook. Carlitos was manning the Bar-B-Q, as always, dressed in my apron. Very fetching! I served the masses some snacks while we were waiting, which disappeared in seconds. This lot are like vultures. So back to the kitchen I went to refill the platter
Clare & CarlitosClare & CarlitosClare & Carlitos

Los Cocineros (The cooks)
as the vultures circled again. As soon as I laid it back on the table, Woomph!!! Gone! I guess Carlitos was getting the hint that his cousins were hungry, so half an hour later we were called to form an orderly queue and dinner was served.

After our succulent dinner of steaks, sausages and chicken we quickly cleared the plates away and I brought out the champers to make a toast to everyone and especially to Anto as Sergio and I missed her birthday last weekend as we were away celebrating mine. Shortly afterwards I had a request from Carlitos to play War of the Sexes so I dived back in to the house to go and dig it out. We cleared the table to make some space and Anto started reading the instructions and explaining the rules. Then... war was declared and the battle was on. After a few hours of play the girls were proclaimed the winners, thrashing the boys on the last question.

Around 3am everyone decided it was time to hit the sack and return to their respective homes. However, I do believe the boys have requested a re-match so we've decided that as there's so much leftover food we're going to get together again tonight for round two. Watch this space!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb