The Arts Scene in Salta - The Ballet


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
June 29th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night was the first of a handful of dates to see the Provincial Ballet Company of Salta perform two new works, namely: The Nutcracker & Peter & The Wolf. I must admit that when I heard they would be performing Peter & The Wolf I regressed for a moment back to my childhood days of listening to the story on vinyl. Where do the years go? So, after having "a moment" I decided there and then that as soon as tickets were on sale I was going to run down to the theatre and get me some 'entradas'.

I am quickly becoming renowned as quite the Ballet Buff in the family, having been to all of the shows since the Inauguration for the re-opening of the theatre after its makeover and refurbishment back in November. A title I'm quite proud of.

So, back to last night. The show started promptly at 7pm (quite a rarity, here in Salta) with some selected scenes from the overly long work of The Nutcracker. We were treated to a couple of scenes with the performers in lots of brightly coloured "untraditional" outfits (i.e. not tutu's). They all performed their scenes well with an eclectic sequence of twists and turns to a range of different styles of music. Then the tempo turned to a more traditional scene with one male dancer and two tutu laidened young ladies. All dressed in an off white, creamy colour. My 6 year old neice was in total awe of it and later revealed to me that that was her favourite part. The final scene was very up tempo with the entire company on stage at one point. The ladies were dressed in the synonomous plum coloured tutu's, some bearing tiara's, which made me think that perhaps they were the Sugar Plum Fairies. Answers on a postcard please 😊

After a fifteen minute interval we resumed with the children's story of Peter and the Wolf. The narrater stepped on to the stage to introduce the characters of the story and the instruments from the Orchestra that they would be represented by. As soon as I heard the music I slipped back into my regression and started humming along. I'm sure my neice thinks I'm bonkers!!

Now it was my turn to be in awe! The narrator did a good job of re-telling the story (albeit in Castellano) and it was great for my neice who didn't know the story before we went. Unfortunately, the staff at the theatre have got really tough on taking photos during the performance so I don't have as many photos this time around to share with all of you. We had the best seats in the house, up in the main balcony. We could see the Symphonic Orchestra underneath the stage and we didn't have to keep head dodging throughout the performance. Well worth the $8 ticket price!!

So, to recap. I've now been to the Ballet four times since the Inauguration and had the pleasure of sitting in: 'The Gods', the stalls and the main balcony. I've also had the pleasure of seeing the following works: Paquita, Napoli, Raymonda, A Midsummer Night's Dream, excerts from The Nutcracker and Peter & The Wolf. Next month, one of the Ballet Companies from Buenos Aires (La Plata) will be performing Sleeping Beauty here in Salta along with the local Orchestra. You just know I'll be there. So until then, enjoy these snapshots from past performances.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Ballet Nov07Ballet Nov07
Ballet Nov07

A scene from 'Paquita'
Ballet Nov07Ballet Nov07
Ballet Nov07

A scene from 'Paquita'
Ballet Nov07Ballet Nov07
Ballet Nov07

A scene from 'Paquita'
Ballet Nov07Ballet Nov07
Ballet Nov07

A scene from 'Napoli'
Ballet Nov07Ballet Nov07
Ballet Nov07

A scene from 'Napoli'
Ballet Nov07Ballet Nov07
Ballet Nov07

A scene from 'Napoli'


30th June 2008

!!!!
Welcome to the blogosphere!!!! Nice to see the arts scene is thriving now that we've left. Hoping to get to teh Damascus Opera House to see something soon. Take care and keep Salta blogging alive!!!!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb