Iguacu. Passport expiry exsmiry


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Iguazu fallsIguazu fallsIguazu falls

Argentina side
I arrived in Iguaçu after a mammoth 2 day plane /bus journey. My stay in Rio lasted all of one hour. After sleeping in Salvador airport until 4 in the morning i got a plane to Rio that arrived at 0630 it was straight to the bus station in Rio and then straight onto a bus to Iguaçu that lasted 20 hours. More importantly I was heading towards new frontiers which was really quite important due to the fast approaching expiry of my visa. Got onto the Brazilian side of the falls and was absolutely knackered so I decided to stay in Brazil for one more night.

I found a cracking hostel up some country lane, dumped my stuff and headed off to the falls. What can I say? Quite colossal really. They seem to cover such a vast expanse and the noise is just deafening.

The next day I went over the border into Argentina. I had to shout at the bus driver as he seemed pretty intent on flying straight through border control. This is perfectly fine if you are from Argentina or Brazil but for other nationalities you have to get exit and entry stamps. Well you don’t have to but without them you will incur a big fine. Besides that it looks a bit queer if you have an entry stamp and no exit stamp in your passport.

Whilst the Brazilian side of the falls provides the grand overview the Argentinean side provides the close up look of some of the biggest waterfalls. One them is the Diablo. To be up close to this is something else. I don’t think photos really give the best impression of how much water is going over the edge and how gigantic the whole thing really is!

After seeing the falls I got a bus to a hostel. I clearly am not in the loop about how popular these waterfalls are because all the hostels were fully booked. So with little else to do in Iguaçu and with no where else to stay I thought it was a good reason to plough on northwards through Argentina. That is why now I find myself in a place called Salta which isn’t so far from the border with Bolivia.

Over the next few days it should start getting a lot colder and places should start getting stupidly high. Im looking forward to doing the La Paz breath test.



bye



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

DiabloDiablo
Diablo

rather impressive


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb