The mystery of the skeleton key;-?


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro
October 14th 2010
Published: October 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post




We find ourselves staying at the Hotel Virginia, a place that happens to be right behind my Mom's sisters house, in a very lovely apartment that had recently been remodeled, beautiful tiled floors and a nice balcony. Yesterday, my uncle Beto proudly pointed to the side of the building where he had painted Hotel Virginia and Restaurant on the side of the building, he is of course...the local sign man;-) Again I find myself baffled by the art of the skeleton key;-). This time we have two skeleton keys on a very heavy key chain made of brass, so heavy in fact I find myself tightening my belt an additional notch just to keep my pants up!  It takes a good minute of pulling on the first door and jostling the key into the hole correctly before I can begin turning it, then it is two good turns!  The door unlocks and we are in...only to repeat the process one more time locking the door behind us...then we climb the stairs of our private entrance to our apartment, numero diece nueve,only to be presented with another skeleton keyed door to unlock, this one is a bit easier having a cut groove on one side indicating to the initiated which side goes down...again with two turns but no pulling this door opens easier...repeat process from inside...yesterday we learned the equivalent of a privacy sign at a hotel w skeleton keys is to simply Leave your key in the hole on the inside of the room (obviously;-). And there I was at Rooney's Boutique leaving a dirty sock on the handle so as to cover up the key hole that felt like a submarines eye to the ocean above.  Not only does the key hole make for a great peep hole for those a little bit shorter in stature, it also provides a nice draft, I was able to dry a freshly washed sock in less then three hours on the door handle due to the nice breeze that came through the key hole;-).

Advertisement



14th October 2010

let's see a picture
of those skeleton keys. how appropriate for the Halloween season to have some skeleton key pics. love, Mom/Kim
16th October 2010

Key Issues
Hi Guys, Well those are nice keys, you know how I love to lock doors, sounds like just the Hotel for me. Instead of putting keys in your pocket just open your belt and slide brass key ring over belt. May be best if Dan keeps the keys, I remember in Europe a young lady holding a large set of keys was the KEY for a professional LADY. LOL I remember when I was young riding around with my uncle Dom and he would point out every house that he had ever worked on or built. Butch

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb