70 odd bodies on 100 something sqm


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

(April 06) At some stage I thought I wasn´t going to survive for much longer with those few words of Spanish that I could speak. With almost no ability to hold a conversation for longer than 30 seconds (because people either walk away or they immediately switch to English) I decided to invest in some private lessons. That made me stay put in Bariloche for a while. Not a bad place to spend some time.


On one of the weekends during my stay in Bariloche I decided to check out that Track to Refugio Otto Meiling by Monte Tronador that everybody was talking about. It was going to be an easy 2 day trip with no need for tent or all the other crap one needs for the usual kind of trekking with camping out in the woods; this was going to be an easygoing and pretty luxurious trip! I was looking forward to some quiet time to share with a handful of people that I might meet on the way and a night with a real mattress to sleep on in some kind of agreeable temperature.

Well, not quite like that! That night, as I found out as soon as I boarded the bus, Club Andino was going to have THE party of the year up there to celebrate seasons end. Oh okay…whatever that meant…

It meant an overprized 3-course meal (still awesome, when you have been hiking all day and hadn´t expected anything like it at all), Wine (definitely enough of it - or more?), disco music, masses of people and lots of fun. The one time in my life that I wasn´t going to stay in my tent I shared a room with about 70 other people (No that´s not a typo…70, that´s correct!!). The floor was entirely covered with mattresses, one next to the other (we had to climb across one to get to the next). There was no floor space left uncovered. Some guys even slept down in the kitchen as there was absolutely no chance of squeezing anyone else in. I don´t know how, but I still slept all the way through the night (guess the wine helped). The next day the weather was merciful once again and it only started to rain once we had reached the shelter of Pampa Linda and its only Hotel. Here we splurged once again
Monto TronadorMonto TronadorMonto Tronador

From Refugio Otto Meiling
(how often do you have the chance to go trekking and eat cake and have wine at the same time??) until the bus picked us up to go back to Bariloche.

Not what I had expected but still a success I´d say!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

View of Pampa Linda View of Pampa Linda
View of Pampa Linda

on the way up to Refugio Otto Meiling
View North towards Paso de Las NubesView North towards Paso de Las Nubes
View North towards Paso de Las Nubes

on the way up to Refugio Otto Meiling
Me - made it!!Me - made it!!
Me - made it!!

at the Refugio


Tot: 0.601s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 23; qc: 93; dbt: 0.3882s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb