Top of the World at the Bottom of the World


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first morning that I woke up to zero precipitation, and there was this strange yellow-orange glow-y ball in the sky. I decided it was my chance to see what this place looks like from above.

So before class (those early to rise Argentines start the school day at 1:00 pm) I rode the teleférico (Gondola) up to Cerro Otto, the mountain that rises above my barrio. At the top is a revolving restaurant. I realized how acculturated (is that a word) I have become when I balked at the prices of food here. My lunch was the equivalent of US $9. That´s about three times what a decent restaurant meal in town costs. Yeah, I heart Argentina.

Anyhow, I am sharing with you the views from outside this restaurant.

The Teleferico was similar to any gondola you´d find in a US ski place, except the cars are all painted bright red. The locals refer to them as manzanitas which literally translates to "Little Apples".

Other than that things are going well. My teachers feel the holes have been filled and, were there a group class at my level, I would be ready to begin the advanced intermediate group. I got the new book and everything.

The thing is, there are only two other students on this campus right now. Both are beginners. They leave on Friday. I really hope there are new people by then.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Lake BelowThe Lake Below
The Lake Below

Shout out to Willam who was nice enough to let me borrow his kick-ass lens. Gracias, dude!
My SchoolMy School
My School

The building immediatly closer to the foreground than those two domes is where my classes are held. The building across the street from the domes is where the Lamela children attend school.


14th June 2007

I hope your having so much fun, the pictures are beautiful, looking forward to seeing more!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.3kb