Bariloche


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

BarilocheBarilocheBariloche

The town of Bariloche as you are approaching
So after being in country side that reminded me of Australia it was off towards the Andes to see things that I have never witnessed before. I was very excited to be going and was not sure what to expect other than hearing that you can get good chocolate in Bariloche. Managed to get the front seat on the bus which means you have great views as you are driving but also you get to see how close you come to hitting vehicles coming the other! My first glimpse at the Andes was great and did not disappoint, just gave me enthusiasm to get up there and get closer to them. The town of Bariloche is surrounded by mountains and hills that are snow dusted and it is on the shores of a massive lake called Lago Nahuel Haupi. A beautiful little town, very touristy mind you, that has lots of chalet styled buildings and had a very Swiss kinda feel. I was going to do my much needed spanish course here for a week and then spend the rest of the time hanging out. Spanish class was a big laugh and I was lucky enough to be put into
EasterEasterEaster

Massive chocolate easter egg that opens and closes and looks great to eat
a group with two other Aussies, Ben & Emily, who knew just as much spanish as me - nada! Combined with our strong australian accents and lack of knowledge of the language I am sure that we rated as some of the worse students in the history of the school. Was great though as it was very relaxed and I walked away having learnt some of the basics of the language and have since been practicing...currently I can get most of what I need but anyone try to have an actual conversation and then it all goes down hill. Afternoons and nights were spent doing activities that the school organised....tango and salsa lessons which were great fun and another area where I have a lot of improvement, hiking to see beautiful sights of the area and helping out with their volunteer program to teach kids english. Of course when you are in Bariloche it is mandatory to go to at least half the chocolate shops and try as much as you can. Emily, Ben and I did try to accomplish this in our spare time and we were literally like kids in a chocolate shop with countless options. Along with the chocolate came the homemade icecream, my favourite, again with way too many options that you have to come back more than once. I believe this is mandatory because my taste buds have never been so happy! Overall I was in Bariloche and the surrounding area for around 3 weeks and loved every minute of it. I was staying in a great hostel called Ruca Hueney, if anyone´s going there, where I actually felt like I was at home. The staff were so friendly and patient with putting up with my terrible spanish and also helping me learn more by refusing to speak in English. I did spend many an afternoon hanging there drinking copious amounts of tea before starting on the cheap good red and listening to great music which was never ending. Thanks to Leo, Gaston,Nacho and Aaron for making it a very hard place to leave!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Lago Nahuel HaupiLago Nahuel Haupi
Lago Nahuel Haupi

Sunset over the lake
Cerro  CampanaroCerro  Campanaro
Cerro Campanaro

Views from the top looking out on the lake district
Cerro  CampanaroCerro  Campanaro
Cerro Campanaro

Views from the top looking out on the lake district
Cerro  CampanaroCerro  Campanaro
Cerro Campanaro

Views from the top looking out on the lake district
Cerro  CampanaroCerro  Campanaro
Cerro Campanaro

Descent down..after taking a wrong turn
Volunteer programVolunteer program
Volunteer program

Hanging out with the kids giving whirlies and trying to play football


20th May 2007

Convinced.
Hey Jane, OK, you have just convinced me that I must get Bariloche!!!! Caz. xx

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb