PATAGONIA!


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!

So on Thursday I took my final exam, which went veeeery badly because I was pretty sick and could not concentrate on any of the questions. It was definatly frustrating because a) I never get sick and had to be sick on the worst day, and b) who gets a huge head cold while in Buenos Aires?

But anyway, now I have a week break until my next classes start. So I am traveling through Patagonia!!! I am SO exciting and arrived in Bariloche this morning!!!! I took a 18 hr bus ride here from Buenos Aires, and it was not bad at all. We stoped at a restaurant, which was included with our ticket, and met a really cute Argentine couple that got a kick out of talking to us. When we first got here, I could not even breathe because it is SOOOOO beautiful!!!! And I was a little nervous to see our hostel, after my experience in Uruguay...but our hostel is SOOOOO nice!!!! It is cleaner than some hotels I have seen!!! And it is like RIGHT in the Andes!!!! I just came back form a nice hike up a mountain and the top was insane. I still cannot believe I am here and I wish that everyone I know could be seeing what I am seeing right now! The lady who works at the hostel is super cute also. We were talking to her, and she is taking off work on Tuesday to go white water rafting with us!! I am super pumped!!! So tomorrow we are going to spend the whole day going on some intense hikes then on Tuesday we are rafting from 9 am to 7pm and are having an asado (Argentine BBQ). We might even cross over to Chille!!! Well, I have a feeling that the further south I travel I will probably have a harder time finding internet. If I find a place, I will definatly update this. But if not...I hope everyone has a WONDERFUL week. I am taking a ton of pictures and will try to get them up here once I get back.

Here is a copy of my plan (I e-mailed this to my parents because they wanted a copy of where I was going to be, so I am just copying and pasting it):

I leave Buenos Aires and take an 18 hr bus to San Carlos de Bariloche. This place is famous for the scenery and all of the glacial lakes. It is supposed to just be like a dream. I guess it was supposedly the inspiration for the scenery for Walt Disney's Bambi! It is also really famous for it's chocolate!!! I will stay here for three nights and spend my time hiking and eating chocolate!

Then I spend the rest of my trip traveling down route 40 (a road in the Andes Mountains). I will stop in Perito Moreno for a day (Perito Moreno is both a town and a glacier. This stop will be at the town Perito Moreno). Here we will visit a famous cave with hand paintings all over the place.

After Perito Moreno (the town), I will travel to el Chalten. This is apart of Argentina´s Santa Cruz Province and is suppose to be another amazing place to go hiking and exploring.

After El Chalten, I will go to El Calafate. This is where all of the Glaciers are. I cannot wait!!!!! This is where I will see the most famous glacier, Perito Moreno (not the town, but the glacier)

Then on Sunday, I am flying out of El Calafate and back to Buenos Aires!!!


Advertisement



5th March 2007

Ahh
I cannot believe all the cool places that you get to go and see. Have a blast. Love ya!
5th March 2007

Hey Beaner, Sounds like you are having a blast. I so happy that you are able to do all these things and are able to travel while you are down there. I can't wait to see all your pictures! You keep having fun and stay safe! We love you lots and are thinking of you always, Leah, Dan, Owen and Ella. Hugs and kisses!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb