Volcano


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 10th 2015
Published: February 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Sunday in Osorno is a bore so we went to Puerto Montt, and after 10 km on the highway that was enough back roads towards the volcano called Osorno.

It was a lovely day with clearish skies and the volcano grew in front of us, sort of Fuji a very nice snow capped cone and looking like a text book illustration of a volcano.

I do not know it it was the same that spewed ashes all over the pass over to Chile.

Anyway it was a nice run into Montt with a strong wind coming of the lake, people camping down by the lake and swimming in that cold water, well the Swedes rather live with cold water as well, not me less than 30 C I do not even dip my toes.

The bay in Puerto Montt is quite nice and the hostel was ok, and also the Froggie kids that lived there as well, especially Clara.

After a well deserved lunch and a walk about we went back to the hostel and were invited to a beach party by the kids, and even though I'm cantankerous old bastard, I have problems saying no to a pretty Frog.

So the five us went to the "party", as expected the music was not to my liking but the company and some beers made it worth while.

But as the sun took it's fare thee well, it got cold so Werner and I did like the sun and left, we hitch hiked back to town for dinner.

The room was cold as hell, and I was in a semi comatose state freezing and not really being able to do anything about but to put my sweater on, but to no awail so when I regained consciousness it was to a bad thunder storm coming in from the bay.

Werner had forgotten his phone and glasses so I fetched my spare parts running around in the pouring rain. with only my rain jacket on.

Being a size above XXXL I had the arms and legs extended by 20 cm I was prepared to ride in the downpour, so off I went with lightnings leading the way

After about 5 km it stopped raining and it got rather warm inside the rain gear.

Werner's bike broke down on the road so We got to Osorno at the same time , he in a pickup with his bike and me under my own steam.

He was happy to get his phone and glasses back.

The Chilean mechanics are slow but I did get my new chain on and the bike was velvety smooth again.

A new hostel for the night and a good dinner with a new acquaintance, Hugo the Oz. Being on a bike and riding around breaks the ice with all fellow bike riders.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb