Que Tranquilo


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided to take a vacation within my vacation. There is this adorable ski village about 3-4 hours north of Bariloche called San Martin de los Andes. Everybody has been raving about it, so this weekend I decided to check it out for myself.

The first difference I´ve noticed is that it is WAY warmer up here. I don´t need to zip my parka during the day, whereas in Bariloche I am pretty much always bundled up hat, coat, and all. While it is a pleasant break, unfortunately it also carries with it the down side that there is not enough snow to open the mountain. In fact, very little snow is visible from town at all.

It´s such a calm, tranquil little town. I´d describe it as sleepy, but would sound too much like a generically written Fodor´s Guide, and let´s face it- generic is not my style. But anyhoo, you get my drift.

Anyhow, never one to sit and do nothing, I decided that if I couldn´t ski, and was forced to relax, I may as well do it in style. I spent most of yesterday wandering around the little town. I found a book store and decided to begin reading the Harry Potter series en español. It´s easier out loud than to myself for some reason. Hey, I guess that will also help with my speech fluency.

Anyhow, this morning I had a massage, went to lunch, and got online. In about an hour and a half, I leave again for Bariloche.

(I must add this- typing this in the Spanish edition of Word is quite the pain in the culo, as this computer is set to automatically correct spelling, and when an English word is similar to a Spanish one, it substitutes it, making me go back and change it. Normally I type it on the site, but when I have a lot of photos to upload, it saves time this way.)





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



18th June 2007

Spell Checking..
Just change the dictionary to US English...
19th June 2007

Amy's big adventure
Hi Aims, I have throughly been enjoying living vicariously through your reporting! I just love it!!! The pictures are great. We loved talking to you Sunday. xoxoxoxo

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb