Oops I did it again...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Or 3rd time really unlucky...

...Zoe and I were waiting at the bus terminal to go and visit some ancient ruins. I stood up to put some rubbish in the bin, and a woman pointed to some keys on the floor, and said that the girl in the kiosk had lost some keys, could I take them to her. Meanwhile a guy was speaking rapidly to Zoe in Spanish, asking questions. When I returned 1 minute later, my bag was gone. With my passport, camera, photos of the Pantanal, and more importantly of Marcos, notebook with all my essential information and photos of family and friends back home, my Spanish dictionary, replacement bear sent to me for my birthday, my little penknife, travellers cheques and cash. Basically everything that is important to me. Gone, just like that. Classic distraction scam, and we fell for it.

But strangely enough, I'm less upset by this event than the others, maybe I'm getting used to it, or maybe just having Zoe there for moral support. Or maybe because I was trying to work out a way of carrying less stuff around, and now I don't have as much to worry about...

...so my travel plans now include going to Buenas Aires again, as it's the only place to get a new passport, and I can't go anywhere without one. And I don't know whether to risk buying a new camera or not, but anyone who knows me will realise I feel like I've lost my right hand when there's no camera in it...at the same time, can I go through all this again or will my insurance company refuse to ever speak to me?!

I'm heading to BA tonight if I can, and we'll see what happens there. If anyone is reading this and planning on travelling - learn from my mistakes, never let go of what is important, and don't trust anyone... but by saying that you will spend the whole of your time clutching things to your chest, and never meeting wonderful people. So ignore what I said about the trust bit. And realise that your life is the most important thing you own. Just don't take anything you can't afford to lose.

Advertisement



26th June 2006

Extreme unluck anna! That's one thing loosing material things but then when you stand there with no photo memories... well I know the exact feeling! The way of thinking that help me in these sort of situations is; (though it's hard to create this thoughts in your mind... but...anyway) "I've always learnt something new!" It truly makes it easier... for sure! Take care and I hope it all will get sorted! Make sure that you won't become a regular at the brittish ambassy (as I was at the swedish one haha!) Do you have a travel insurance? Love from Therese xxxxxx
26th June 2006

Blimey
Hi Anna, I've just been catching up on your travel blog, I can barely believe it! There have been plenty of oohs, ahhhhs, oh my gods, no ways and Dan you just will not believe what has happened nows. I'm pleased to hear you are taking stuff in your stride now, however cruel some people can be. I cant find your email address but will text Karina and then send you a big smile from Sam - his cheeky chops brighten any day, but for now lots of love and big hugs from Tansy xx
28th June 2006

It is a lot more glamorous to be mugged in South America than in the middle of Leicester by some Burberry-bedecked moron! Looking forward to seeing you at my 40th birthday party on the 8th July. TIM
10th July 2006

Hustle and Flow?
Good to see hustling is alive and well in Argentina! I found your story of thievery very tragic! But, it also put a smile on my face thinking about how clever the people who did it were. Ive enjoyed following your blog but only wish for more pictures! :D

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb