Waterfalls.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
March 9th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It´s like the most brilliant poet of our time once said:

¨Don't go chasing waterfalls
Please stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to
I know that ypu're gonna have it your way or nothing at all
But I think you're moving too fast ¨

The falls of Iguazu (Argentinian side) were the basis for this beautiful work of art. While I didn´t have the same muses that stood behind T-Boz, Left Eye (RIP), and Chilli... I still was amazed by the sheer beauty of the waterfalls.

They are big. It´s like if you put yourself into a barrel and went down the river, you would probably not survive... THATS HOW BIG.

I got into Puerto Iguazu after a 16 hour bus ride. The key to an effective day after a long bus ride is sitting in the back of the bus, most people don´t want to sit there... so you can end up with an entire row to yourself. Also taking sleeping pills makes the journey much more enjoyable. (The dreams you have are better than the movies they show... I missed out on Art Heist, with a Baldwin, William or Stephen)

When I got into town, I put my stuff down, and then headed for the buses to Iguazu. On the bus I met some cool people that spoke English (FLUENTLY) (South Africa, South Africa, California, Washington, Canada ) which was a nice change of pace.

We walked around to the different waterfalls... and then we went on an adventure boat ride... they drive you under the waterfalls... it was so much fun. I think that being under a waterfall is the closest feeling to being at sea while your ship is sinking. After the adventure cruise we went on a jungle cruise. We saw a Cayman (alligatorish), some Tucans (no frootloops), and a plastic bottle. The water was hella tranquil, even though we were a few hundred feet from the edge of a huge waterfall.

We left the park at closing time. I went back to the hostel of my friends and we went swimming and drank gin and tonics... then we went to a sandwichería and to a disco.

I woke up this afternoon and went to visit the people at their spotty. Me and Richard went to eat lunch. I had my first delicious steak in Argentina... we met up with this Cuban guy, Cesar, who worked at the club we were at last night.

He has the keenest skill of determining where people are from. (It´s all in the clothes.) He´s an international dude, who speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, Hebrew, and Tourism.

He took us to this site where you can see Paraguay, Brasil, and if you look down, Argentina. Then he bought us soda and frenchfries... He is the most famous person in this town. If this town was the world of entertainment he would be much more famous than Stephen, William, and ( possibly ) Alec Baldwin.

I tried to buy a ticket to fly to Buenos Aires tommrow, but there is a strike. So I think I´m going to cross the border (its a river, so I´m going to swim across) into Brasil... and head east. It´s all up in the air. But tonight I´m going back to Cuba Libre discoteca, because I had fun yesterday... holla.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0919s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb