Farewell Argentina


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today has been my last day in Argentina, tonight is my last night, I leave for Brazil tomorrow. Despite everything that has happened I am very sad to be leaving, and already planning my return.

So what exactly will I miss? Well here is just a short list of the things...
1) Mate. For those of you who know how much tea I drink (none), and coffee(none), and hot drinks generally (rarely), this will probably surprise you a little. Drinking Mate is as much a ritual here as tea drinking back home, with the advantage that it can be drunk almost anywhere. The mate leaves are placed in a 'mate'cup, made from a fruit shaped like a balloon. A seive attached to a straw, made of metal is then placed in the mate, and hot water added from a flask. The mate is then passed to one member of the group, drunk, then the mate returned to the flask holder to be replenished. This is repeated until there's no water left. The taste is quite bitter, and varies depending on the type of mate used. Drunk on the bus, round the table, in the street, totally addictive!

2)The people, constantly friendly and helpful depite my lack of knowledge of their language,

3)the constantly stunning countryside

4) the weather, the sky is always blue, the sun is always shining. And when it's not, then the rain is doing a proper job at getting everything soaked

5)The ice cream

6) Marcos...

I need to say a huge big thank you to everybody who has sent me love and support and advice the past week - it all means a great deal to me, and I don't feel like you're all hundreds of miles away.
I'll try and update you all on the actual places I've travelled later on, never seem to have enough time for all I want to say! However, I know that there are a lot of worried people out there, so this is just to let you know I'm ok, and thank you.

Advertisement



10th June 2006

travelling on
Dearest Anna, we were so relieved to finally hear from you that you are OK. Guessed you ight be visiting Marcos - but didn't know. I am sure I speak for many of your friends in saying that I am glad you are continuing your travelling schedule. The main thing is to keep safe and well. And to all of you out there who supported Anna with helpful advice, thank you !!!
10th June 2006

Hi!
Hi, I just came accross your blog.. your story if very familiar to me.. as the same thing happend to me! I'd love to chat to you about it.. so drop me and email when and if you get a chance... (and if u want ofcourse) (me_rossotti@yahoo.com)

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb