Iguazú Falls


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Retrospective blog #2



I went to the Iguazú Falls back in December 09 when my Dad and his wife came to visit me... but I never got round to blogging about it.

To be fair, even if I had blogged about it straight away, there wouldn't have been much I could say about it... the scenery is stunning, and it's a place where pictures speak louder than words... (and even then pictures struggle to capture the true beauty of the place).

We flew up for a long weekend as I was still teaching and couldn't get any time off. Alex, my then next-door neighbour who is also a travel agent, arranged the excursions for us, ensuring that we would see both sides of the falls (the Brazilian and the Argentinian).

The weather when we arrived in Brazil quickly turned stormy, which meant we were unable to do the helicopter trip over the falls that Theresa had persuaded my Dad to agree too. However, we were still able to see the falls, despite getting wetter than normal.

The following day we spent the our time on the Argentine side. The difference between the two sides is that
Iguazú FallsIguazú FallsIguazú Falls

Dad by the map of the national park on the Brazilian side
the Brazilian side gives you the panoramic view of all the different cataracts that make up the falls, whereas on the Argentine side you get up close to the actual falls. You can take boats right into the middle of the falls (we did) and stand on top of some of the biggest cataracts.

In the town of Puerto Iguazú there isn't much apart from hostels and hotels catering to the tourists.

But anyway, I'm going to let the pictures do the talking...


Additional photos below
Photos: 78, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Iguazú FallsIguazú Falls
Iguazú Falls

The three of us in our fetching waterproofs..


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb