Iguaza Falls - a small world


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Iguaza FallsIguaza FallsIguaza Falls

The Devil's Throat
After arriving in Puerto Iguaza, a small town on the border of Argentina and Brazil that largely caters for tourists travelling to see the Iguazu Falls, I headed straight out to spend the afternoon at the Argentinian side of the Falls.

All I can say is that these waterfalls are breathtaking! Probably the most amazing thing i've ever seen in my life! From the Argentinian side the falls seem to stretch for kilometres, and the power of the water falling through the Devil's Throat and down the 100's of other smaller waterfalls has to been seen to be believed. A whole series of walkways have been built across the river and to the edges of waterfalls allows you to get right up into all the action and into the refreshing spray and mist that the falls throw up. And this place is bloody hot!! It's in the heart of the jungle - 35° and 100% humidity - all i can say is I was one sweaty mess... but so were all the other tourists from Brazil and Argentina so I didn't feel that out of place.

I arrived back at my hostel in the evening and met my dorm
Iguaza FallsIguaza FallsIguaza Falls

Brazil from Isla de San Martin
buddy, Thane, and as soon as I saw his face, I thought he looked familiar. And he was! He used to live two floors above me back in Cavill Terrace Apartments in Kingston (Canberra) - so about 5 metres away from me - and now we happen to meet in a small town on the border of Argentina and Brazil... Bizzarre!!!!!! So on both nights that I stayed in Puerto Iguaza, Thane and I went out for beers and dinner. Both nights I had more amazing Argentinian steak, but on the second night we went to a local Parilla and shared this giant BBQed skewer full of thick meaty goodness (are you getting this steak vibe? I love it!).

The second day I went back to the Argentinian side of the falls and went on a boat ride up the river to where they take you right underneath a couple of the falls and right next to one of the biggest falls there. As you can imagine you get totally drenched, but it's bloody good fun! On the final day I went over the Brazilian side in the morning, before catching a 18hr bus back to B.A. in the
Iguaza FallsIguaza FallsIguaza Falls

Argentinian View
afternoon. They played a few movies on the bus ride, but two of the movies were the two really bad movies they played on the way up, one of them had Henry Rollins in it and i'll just mention that he is probably the worst actor I have ever seen!!!





Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Devil's Throat
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Me and the Devil's Throat
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Boat ride up to the falls
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

View from Isla San Martin
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

View from Isla San Martin
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Hidden view from Isla de San Martin
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Brazilian Walkway
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Beach on Isla de San Martin
Puerto IguazaPuerto Iguaza
Puerto Iguaza

Thane and the giant stick of meat!
Puerto IguazaPuerto Iguaza
Puerto Iguaza

Thunderstorm clears the 'Color' Parilla
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

View from Brazil
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

Devil's Throat from Brazil
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

The Devil's Throat
Iguaza FallsIguaza Falls
Iguaza Falls

yes, another waterfall!


21st March 2006

Check out those falls
Mate, those falls look amazing. Looks like you probably get the volume of all of Canberra's dams over the falls every day. As for all the steak, at least now you can say you are on the protein diet. Keep sending the pics. Topha
28th March 2006

Looks Boring!
Hey dude! What an uninspiring place. I know where I'd rather be....Berra.
1st April 2006

absolutely amazing views
wow outstanding pics
3rd April 2006

that's a "Deep Throat"
yeah, I would rather be in Canberra too!! go meet some south americans you little steak eat'n, beer love'n, aussie traveller. BTW noice photos! Adios!

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb