Argentina - Iguazu Falls


Advertisement
Published: October 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Puerto Iguazu on Thursday 25 June and checked into a hostel near the bus station and then walked around the town all afternoon. The first thing I noticed was how much cheaper Argentina was compared to Brazil. I had lunch outside a restaurant with a 1 litre bottle of Quilmes lager which was great and very cheap. However, the pizza was the worst I have ever had. I got back to the hostel in the evening and had an early night. On Friday morning, I caught the bus to the Iguazu National Park but this time I was entering on the Argentinean side. After paying another NP fee, I caught a free train inside the Park that took us closer to some of the trails. There were a vast number of trails to explore and lots more to see compared to the Brazil side. I spent 5 hours in all walking around, admiring the spectacular views of the Falls at each and every point. There was also quite a bit of wildlife including lots of Coatis (part of the racoon family) and lots of different sized and coloured birds. I think I took about 300 photos and video of the Falls because I could not believe how awesome they were. It is impossible to describe and is simply one of them places that you have to see for yourself. Could easily be a contender for one of the seven natural wonders of the world. I took the bus back to town and got some dinner before going back to the hostel. After checking out on Saturday morning I walked around town, spent some time on the internet and then went for a nice pasta lunch. Then I caught my 3pm bus to Buenos Aires.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb