Just a little waterfall...


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I left Salta on a lazy Sunday afternoon and arrived in Puerto Iguazu 15 hours later. Strangely, I bumped into a Canadian couple I had met in Mendoza who looked after me while I was sick in Mendoza. It's a small world! I soon found a great hostel, 5k out of town. But it was more like a hotel and had a huge pool. Much needed as temperatures were around 35oC.

That evening I met Philippine from Belgium and we made plans to head to the Argentinian side of the falls in the morning. After an early start and a short 20 minute journey we were soon at the entrance, tickets in hand and rather excited. All people who have been to the falls rave about them so we really had high expectations. We jumped on a little train and headed straight to the main attraction. I don't need to say much more about this place as I'll let the pictures do the talking.

It took around 4-5 hours to trek around the whole park and take our touristy pictures. It was quite simply AMAZING and breath-taking. A must for anyone travelling to this part of Argentina

The following day I made plans (following advice from some friends, thank you!) to make my way across the Brazillian border. I did this part by myself and it was perfect. It only took a few hours to do the whole park but I spent much more time just watching. Again, I'll let the pictures do the talking. It was a totally panoramic view of the falls and because of a perfectly clear day there were huge rainbows everywhere. If you're heading this way make sure you don't miss out on the Brazillian side. It was my favourite by far.

Later that afternoon I started upon my mammouth journey to Florianopolis in Brazil.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

SuspenseSuspense
Suspense

From hear you can hear the falls and see a little bit of spray...
ta-data-da
ta-da

Sorry, I'm in the way
Really, it was amazing...Really, it was amazing...
Really, it was amazing...

the photo doesn't do it justice
Brazillian sideBrazillian side
Brazillian side

again, the camera doesn't do it justice!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb