Igazu Farkin´ Falls


Advertisement
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunset in the wetlandsSunset in the wetlandsSunset in the wetlands

You can´t see them here, but these wetlands had more birds and crocodiles than you can poke a stick at.
Buenas dias from Argentina! I hope this blog entry finds everyone fit and well and enjoying the cricket season!

After a great couple of weeks in Bolivia I have spent the last two weeks in northern Argentina and I have been having a great time. I spent a few days in the desert, which was similar to the desert in southern Bolivia so I won´t bore you with too many details, only to say that I loved my first taste of Argentinian life. Pretty much a typical day for an Argentinian seems to run as follows:

7.30am: Sunrise. But you don´t want to get up until a few hours later, just to make sure the sun is properly up.
9:00am: Get up. Drink mate (pronounced mar-tay)
9.30am: Think about possibly doing something useful, so walk around with a flask of hot water, making and drinking mate for a few hours
12.30pm: Lunch. Three course meal and a bottle of red wine
2.00pm: Siesta. All the shops are shut anyway and you don´t want to overexert yourself after that busy morning
5pm: Think about possibly doing some useful, so go shopping to re-stock wine cellar
9.30pm: Sunset. The day really
Holy moly that´s a lot of waterHoly moly that´s a lot of waterHoly moly that´s a lot of water

Photos don´t even go close to capturing how much water there is in this place....
begins now.
10pm: Dinner. 3 course meal with several bottles of red wine. Dessert starts at about midnight.
1am: Hit the town for a live music show or some tango dancing.
3am: Bed....and get ready to do it all again! What a life!

There have been a few definite highlights in northern Argentina. I spent three days at the Ibera Nature Reserve, a huge wetland which has the most birds, crocodiles and giant guinea pigs of any place I have ever been. I had a great time watching wildlife and, in the spirit of all things Argentinian, having afternoon siestas and drinking red wine.

The other highlight has been Igazu farkin´Falls.....so called because when you see them you can´t help but swear alot, along the lines of ¨holy fark thats some massive waterfalls¨, ´fark me I have never seen so much water in all my life´, and ´there are a farkin´lot of really annoying old fat tourists here´. The falls are a truly amazing, as they consist of a huge number of different waterfalls spread over a really big area - the amount of water and the noise they make are just unbelieveable. You can also get really
The falls from afarThe falls from afarThe falls from afar

One of the many views from the Brazilian side of the falls
close to the falls through a series of boardwalks and by the end of the day I was soaking wet from all the spray coming off them. So if you ever get the chance I would highly recommend a visit because it is a great experience.

And one more highlight coming up....only one day until Tim arrives, so as you can imagine I am getting pretty excited! Hope to hear from you all soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Me and waterMe and water
Me and water

Taken by one of the 15 squillion other tourists at the falls.


23rd February 2008

Greetings from Dili
Hi Penny! Wooowww, I'm really envy with your adventures.. It's really COOL!! I'd like to do that someday too :) Anyway, just wanna let you know that I'm in Dili now for post swap program.. Maybe until around June I'm gonna be here.. Wish me luck -www(dot)bitsofrievees(dot)blogspot(dot)com- Good luck with your more adventures! Rina

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb