IGUASU - take a load off


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If you are carrying anything heavy take it Iguasu.
Throw it to the garganta de diablo.
The bigger the better, but give it all.
Smooth water is turned to countless boisterous drops,
pummelling and tearing,
screaming and shouting.
If you have tears la garganta has more...
your face, hair and body
stream with her tears.
The mother of all tears,
shuddering sobs,
arrested breath
and howling cries,
unending torrents over and over and over.

.....................................................................................................................


I pulled in to Nazareth, was feeling 'bout half past dead
I just need some place where I can lay my head
"Hey mister, can you tell me where a man might find a bed?''
He just grinned and shook my hand, ''No'' was all he said

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And you put the load right on me

I picked up my bag, I went looking for a place to hide
When I saw Carmen and the Devil walking side by side
I said "Hey Carmen, come on, let's go downtown''
She said "I gotta go but my friend can stick around''

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And you put the load right on me

Go down Miss Moses, there's nothing you can say
It's just old Luke, and Luke's waiting on the judgement day
"Well, Luke my friend, what about young Anna-Lee?''
He said "Do me a favour son, won't you stay and keep Anna-Lee
company?''

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And you put the load right on me

Crazy Chester followed me and he caught me in the fog
He said "I will fix your rat if you'll take Jack my dog''
I said "Wait a minute Chester, you know I'm a peaceful man''
He said "That's okay boy, won't you feed him when you can?''

Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And you put the load right on me

Catch a cannonball now to take me down the line
My bag is sinking low and I do believe it's time
To get back to Miss Annie, you know she's the only one
Who sent me here with her regards for everyone
Take a load off, Annie
Take a load for free
Take a load off, Annie
And you put the load right on me

by
">the Band / Jimmy Barne's version (from Flesh and Wood)


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

waterfalls everywhere!waterfalls everywhere!
waterfalls everywhere!
JJ after our boat rideJJ after our boat ride
JJ after our boat ride
more waterfallsmore waterfalls
more waterfalls

the whole of Iguasu has soooooo many waterfalls!!!! It is really quite amazing to have so many waterfalls in one area. the sound and the energy of teh place is unique because of this. We just couldn't stop taking photos!!!!!!
carla of the junglecarla of the jungle
carla of the jungle
the three girls at the devil's throat!the three girls at the devil's throat!
the three girls at the devil's throat!
looking at the next victimslooking at the next victims
looking at the next victims

JJ looking on to the next lot of boat ride victims about to get totally drenched underneath that waterfall.
waterfall 2waterfall 2
waterfall 2
waterfall waterfall
waterfall


24th April 2007

The Band/Jimmy Barnes version
I'm having a little trouble imagining Jimmy Barnes singing this - I've got The Band version running through my head, which I really like and often hum/sing under my breath, but Jimmy Barnes !!! I will withhold any further judgement until I hear it (which could be a long time unfortunately, or perhaps fortunately, as generally I don't like Jimmy Barnes' rendition of songs).
25th April 2007

don't be a snob....!
But if it makes you feel better the version is from the album Flesh and Wood which is collaboration with the Badloves in 1993. I'm back in the land of OZ and feelin' it....just wanted to share the love that's all.....ha ha

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb