Almost there...just another bus ride away


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza
December 14th 2013
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -32.8927, -68.8331

I did choose the wrong bus company from Cordoba to Mendoza, why did I do that? hmmh...I simply didn't know better...The bus was awfully slow and went the route over the mountains to some towns in the mountains where people go on vacation. It felt like somewhere in Bavaria, Germany...

Anyhow, after a looonnnnggggg slooooow bus ride I did arrive in Mendoza in the afternoon...Very welcoming...It's the southern hemisphere summer so everyone was out...Everybody had a bottle of wine and sitting outside chatting with others...Nice place, I planned to come back...Didn't make it quite but that's another story...

I was waiting at the terminal de Omnibus in Mendoza for a bus that goes to Santiago Terminal Sur...As I was chatting with a bus driver, he just said, this one is going, hurry up and buy your ticket...Welcome to the most expensive country in South America...Chile...

I got a taste of the prices...The bus ticket to Santiago cost 3 times as much as a bus for such route would cost in Argentina...Anyhow TUR BUS, the only bus going from the Chilean company was expensive, it felt expensive anyhow...But having the choice to wait overnight in the bus station or leave right away...the choice was easy...I hope on it and was on my way to Santiago de Chile...The bus ride was faster than I thought, it took only 6 hours...including the border formalities.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb