Bad Luck Day


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I don´t know if this day can get any worse.... well it can (knock on wood)...

First this morning we got to the bus station to catch our bus to Viña del Mar, Chilé. However old man winter has caught up with us and snowed in the mountian passes so all buses to Chilé have been cancelled. So we managed to get a taxi back to the bus agency where we booked and got 70% of our money back. Excellent. Then we booked another bus back to Buenos Aires tonight because there´s no sense hoping the pass will open tomorrow becasue it could be days and/or weeks. We got that done no problem.

So we headed off for lunch, then to check out a couple of plazas in Mendoza that we haven´t seen yet. So we´re enjoying this nice plaza, watching some teenagers play some soccer adn then some woman is hurrying by and drops her keys right in front of us. So of course what do we do? Pick them up and try to rush after her. Of course my bag is still sitting on teh ground next to me. I turn around and it´s gone. No sign of it or anyone. Not my big bag (it was on my back) but my bookbag with my camera and cord, some clothes, my pics from home, my Argentina book, my reading books, my water and water bottle, some of my clothes, a pair of my glasses, a set of contacts.... GONE. We fell for the stupidest scam ever. But it happens so fast you don´t realize and whoever snatched up the bag was gone in a flash. It wasn´t more than 7 or 8 seconds before I turned around to pick it up again and it was nowhere in sight. So now I am completely rotted. And we still have 7 hours to waste before our bus leaves and I have no books, no camera, no small bag. Oh well I guess there´s nothing I can do about it now. Just not be so stupid in the future.

So we´re heading back to Buenos Aires tonight and then perhaps on to Uruguay to enjoy the beaches there for a while.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb