Mendoza - A chain of disappointments


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
May 18th 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Buenos Aires to Mendoza

Cama Total!

To MendozaTo MendozaTo Mendoza

Cama Total - 1st class bus in Argentina. It even goes a bit more down to a completely horizontal position
The main reason for coming to Mendoza for me was mountain Aconcagua and the park in which it lies.
Aconcagua is the highest mountain in the world outside of Asia, 6962m.
At first I wanted to do just some treks in the park, but than I found out that it's possible to climb it without any special technical skills, just with warm enough equipment and 2 weeks of time.

Before coming to Mendoza, I even called to insure that the park is open, since I heard it's the end of the season and it might be closed.

But after arriving, I found out that it's impossible to climb because of bad and cold weather.
On top of the mountain it went down to -45C at night - a little bit too cold for me.
Than I wanted to do some treks in the park, but they were closed also because of the weather, so all I could do is just a tour around the city.
When we arrived to the park in the tour it started to snow, and was really cloudy, so we even didn't see the mountain - it was completely hidden!

Nevertheless, I enjoyed in the city, because I met some interesting people, like Andre from Brazil with whom, I'm proud to report, I communicated only in Spanish.
I also went to park San Martin in the city, which was nice,
and I hope I'll be able to return to Aconcagua some day to attempt and climb it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Promenade just for usPromenade just for us
Promenade just for us

Don't get to excited - there is one for Saudi Arabi and Iraq as well
Precordillera mounteinsPrecordillera mounteins
Precordillera mounteins

The nature here reminded me a bit of Midbar Yehuda or Mizpe Ramon in the Negev, just higher and colder
The river changed it's flowThe river changed it's flow
The river changed it's flow

After the bridge was constructed few handreds years ago
Park AconcaguaPark Aconcagua
Park Aconcagua

Joining the Argentinean nation??
The guysThe guys
The guys

But where's the mountain?? The highest in the world outside of Asia?


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.048s; cc: 15; qc: 93; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb