Life on an organic farm


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
April 2nd 2011
Published: April 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I must say that my first week on the organic farm (http://www.elperegrinorganico.com/espa%F1ol.html) El peregrino has been interesting. The main product of the farm is organic apple juice. This week we picked apples off the apple trees some days and some days helped with the production of the juice. Picking apples is not so great for my endless allergies so i much perfer the juice making. On the farm live: the family consisting of Ana and Ignacio (the grandparents), Rodrigo and Maria and her husband (their children) and Paloma (a thirteen year old with dreadlocks and a lot of sass), a new born baby, 5 cats, 5 dogs and 10 Volunteers. All the food cooked and served is organic and vegetarian which is perfect for me!! The showers however are freezing cold and I am experiencing a new things call a Bano seco or a dry toliet in which everyday a bucket is emptied into compost that is full of "human manure."
On my third day of at the farm I got some sort of stomach virus or was having trouble with some sort of bacteria and spent the last 3 days either laying in bed or dealing with the sickness.
Anyways it has been a new and interesting experience living on a farm and kinda feels like camping. The area I´m in is really beautiful and completely opposite from Buenos Aires with fields and mountains everywhere. I am really enjoying the quiet and being in nature again. I am taking it week by week to see how long I will stay at the farm.
Hope everyone is well!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012kb