ROUTE 40


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut
March 29th 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Route 40Route 40Route 40

this is the road that never ends...it just go on and on my friend...(you all know the song im referrin to!!!)
This was a 2 day bus trip from hell!!! i was told that this was meant to be a highlight of the patagonian experience...arid landscapes, beautiful mystical scenery.. a must see part of the backpacker experience!!! after a few hours it was clear the people who wrote about this must be on drugs!!! i was stuck for 2 days on a bus travelling down route 40 with its desolate interior and the andes mountain range in the distance...no point trying to romanticise it...between snorting the dust fusing its way through the bus and trying aimlessly to get rid of that cramp from sitting too long, i started hallucinating to keep myself occupied!!

The highlight was when we stopped at a hospital (which looked akin to a run down veterinary hospital) because a woman was getting right iliac fossa pain, at which point i called out 'im a doctor'..so i brought out my stethscope (yes i did bring with me my stethoscope...stop grinning!!) and my spanish phrase book and attempted to take her history and examine...again..the doctor saves the day!!! gave her some meds and she was fine! i had all these argentinian nurses hovering round me and all took it
Route 40Route 40Route 40

playing the doctor along the way! with Amalia as nurse (left), and Felicity as patient (middle). both were from spain. The doctor saves the day again!!!
in turns to kiss me on both cheeks and invite me to their house...no doubt there would be some unsuspecting daughter waiting for my match-making!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 32; qc: 146; dbt: 0.1387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb