So many Penguins and no Batman!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Puerto Madryn
March 29th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The bus ride was very comfortable in Carma class. Although the landscape that passed by my window was extremely monotone, they entertained us with movies and served coffee and sandwitches.

Puerto Madryn as typical Beach-Touristy Place. On one of the Mainroads you find one tour seller after the other. The Town has some very good restaurants for fish and beef. Besides that, you can only go on the Peninsula Valdez or down to Punto Tombo. I did the last thing, because its not whale watching season anymore, and in Punto Tombo are still a couple thousand Penguins left.

On the way south we stopped at the coast and hopped on a boat to search for Commerson´s Dolphins. They are only up to 1,6m long and therefore belong to the smallest dolphins in the world. Once we found them, they played around our boat and it was a pleasure to watch them. But they jumped very rarely, so I took about 50 shots to get these few good ones. I love my digital SLR camera, it´s perfect for this.

In the Peaktime about 250 thousand Magellan Penguins breed in Punto Tombo. Now in automn they start to leave for
Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

They look cute, but the eyes tell a different story.
They look cute, but the eyes tell a different story.
the warmer north. It´s interesting, that they stay a half year in the water near the brazilian coast and next spring they come back south to breed. But what amazed the most, was the fact, that they find and use the same nest again, without having housenumbers or streetnames... LOL.

I can´t write more, just enjoy the pictures. I have to catch the bus to Buenos Aires in an hour.
Hasta luego, Stafano

PS.: "No bad man" I felt pretty safe on the streets even at night. I hope it stays like this even in Buenos Aires. Although I heared different stories... about People getting shot in the hostel... oh well.. wish me luck!




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

They are everywhere...
Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

Some are still in their nests.
Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

I think I twisted his mind...
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo and our tour groupMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo and our tour group
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo and our tour group

On the bus I met some funny guys from England. I wish them all good luck on their trips.
Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

Hey, what are you looking at?
Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

The Beach was packed! They were all waiting for the right current to set their course to Brasil.
Magellan Penguins and me in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins and me in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins and me in Punto Tombo

Just a picture to show how close they came to me!
Magellan Penguins in Punto TomboMagellan Penguins in Punto Tombo
Magellan Penguins in Punto Tombo

Just a picture to show how close they came.
Puerto Madryn´s beachfrontPuerto Madryn´s beachfront
Puerto Madryn´s beachfront

At noon, I was the only person wandering in the sun.


Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 20; qc: 96; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb