Wales (and whales) in Patagonia!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Gaiman
May 24th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There´s only one month left until the end of my trip, and I got a little taster of returning home when I visited the area in Patagonia where many Welsh people settled after crossing the Atlantic in 1865. So funny! I visited a little town called Gaiman which is famous for its Tea houses. I was very intrigued by the idea of this, as I don´t really associate afternoon tea as being a particularly Welsh thing.

The town was pretty dead as it is the low season for tourism in Patagonia, but it was so cute walking around the town seeing Welsh signs and flags. The afternoon tea was a great experience. Slightly pricey at around 7 pounds, but you got pots of the best tea I´ve tasted on my travels, bread and butter, cheese, scones & jam and 8 types of cake!!! Bara brith was there (which I actually don´t like) and the cakes were delicious, but I was dissapointed to not find ´welsh cakes´there. Oh well, something to look forward to having when I get home!

The decoration inside was really quaint with lots of framed Welsh teatowels. Also lots of choral music and hymns playing in the background. No male voice choirs though!

I went to a souvenir shop in the town and met the cutest little old Welsh lady ever (apart from Nanny Noodle, obviously)! She´d been born in the town and raised speaking Welsh. She spoke English perfectly with a really strong Welsh accent, it was so strange! She said that lots of teachers come over from Wales now to teach there. It was a really sweet day out!

Another reason for going to that area of Patagonia is for the sealife. When it is the correct season you can see all sort of things- whales, orcas, sealions, seas, elephant seals and much more. Unfortunately the month of May is pretty much the only month in the whole year where there is nothing to see!!!! I´d met a few people who´d been there recently and had been lucky enough to see whales close to the shore, so I had my hopes up. I went to a beach for 2 hours with some people in my hostel, and yey, we saw 5 whales!!! But, boo, they were pretty far away from the shore. I won´t bother putting any photos up here as they are basically just ocean with a black splodge every now and then! It was amazing to watch though. They move as if in slow motion, so when their tails flick out of the water they seem suspended in the air for quite a while. Definitley somewhere I´d like to return at the right season!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th May 2008

Home sweet home!
I can't get over how much it looks like our home!!! A picture of me playing the harp and a doll in the cothes we wear every day!! Also that lovely plate of cakes - just like thebaking I do!!! You really must be homesick now!!
26th May 2008

Welsh cakes
I too was disappointed to find out that you can't get "welsh cakes" in Gaiman - especially as I am also not a fan of bara brith! Great blog - it looks cold down in Patagonia now!
26th May 2008

mum...that's the funniest thing you've ever written..... and soph .GET OUT OF THERE AS SOON AS YOU CAn!!!! it looks really wierd and scary!!!xx hee hee love ya loads xxx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb