The Really Old Trees


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Chubut » Esquel
January 13th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

El AbueloEl AbueloEl Abuelo

57 meters tall
Yesterday I got to Esquel. Unfortunately I found out on the bus, which was only 4 hours, that I have another attack of diarrhea. It was a really bad place to find out, but all my time in Bolivia paid off, and I was able to wait until we got to Esquel. Everything is fine now, just a little reminder that this is still South America. Anyway, after that, I didnĀ“t do much else yesterday, just watched Band of Brothers on the DVD at the hostel.
Today I went to Parque Nacional Los Alerces, which protectes some really old alerce tree. Alerce is a conifer, similar to the redwood in the US. After sailing on one lake, walking to another lake and sailing on another lake, we got to a small island with thousand year old trees, and some even older. It was actually valdivian jungle, which is similar to amazonian jungle, just with different trees. The main attraction was a 2600 year old tree, called Abuelo (grandfather), which we saw at the end, and it really is impressive.
Tomorrow I am going to El Bolson for a few days, and then southwards to El Chalten.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0985s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb