I Don't Want to Call This One EL TANGO But...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
June 3rd 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I love Buenos Aires! After being in Chile for a month, it was so nice to be in a place where I could understand what people were saying!!! (the Spanish in Chile is different) We stayed in Hostel Escondil on Avenida de Mayo right in the center of Buenos Aires for about US $9 a night (I was only there for two night). If I ever do another study abroad in Latin America/ when I go to Latin America again- I am going to Buenos Aires! The atmosphere, the architecture, the people, the food... everything was awesome (plus everything is SO much cheaper than it was in Chile). We went to the antique flea market in La Recoleta on Sunday morning and saw Tango street performers (like good tourists) and then to Evita's tomb and the Cathedral and art centers next door. We read online that the Botanical gardens were a place of "fairy-tale havens" and "babbling brooks" or something, so we, of course, had to go. It was really a homeless cat park and I saw the fattest cat that I have ever seen in my life (it was the size of a pig). Then, we went to La Boca and saw more tango street performers and wandered around the shops. That night, we went to Cafe Tortonni for a "genuine" tango show (apparently most of the tango shows are too touristy) and that was really cool, but I don't have any pictures. Cafe Tortonni and La Boca were the best parts of our little two day stay. The third morning we ended up taking a two hour cab ride first to the wrong airport, then to the airpark, and got on a later flight to IGUAZU!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th June 2006

cat
Didn't you take a picture of that fat cat?
12th June 2006

cat
Didn't you take a picture of that fat cat?

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0983s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb