The Tour


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
March 22nd 2005
Published: March 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

San TelmoSan TelmoSan Telmo

This is the view of the Cathedral in San Telmo from Plaza Dorrego.
Sorry guys it has taken me so long to update. I finally figured out how to get pictures from my camera to here without saving them to the computers here.

Anyway, we took a tour about two weeks ago through the city. We first went to San Telmo which is the oldest part of the city. This is the place where they have coblestone roads and old buildings. This is where the first settlers came. They stayed there until there was a yellow fever epidemic and then they moved to the north in Recoleta.

San Telmo has a beautiful cathedral, and it is where you can go to watch a tango show in Plaza Dorrego. There also is an antique fair every weekend which is something that attracts many tourists. It's definitely very interesting and gives you a taste of old Buenos Aires. There are many street perfomers and places to buy freshly squeezed orange juice.

La Boca is the next neighborhood we visited. It's a very colorful neighborhood, and is considered the poorest in the city. There are only a couple of roads that they suggest tourists go down. It's definitely worth it though because it is
La BocaLa BocaLa Boca

Liz is standing in front of one of the streets in La Boca.
so different from the rest of the city.

We then headed to Recoleta and went to Eva Perón's grave. It was really cool. I didn't expect the cemetary to be like that. It was almost like tombs where people can go to pay their respects.

Well I've got to get going!

Chau,
Jamie


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

RecoletaRecoleta
Recoleta

This is Eva Perón's grave.


28th March 2005

I bet seeing Eva Peron's grave was just that much cooler since we watched Evita before you left huh? PS They kept playing Drop It Like It's Hot in PCB and it reminded me of hip hop when it was fun... - Megan
29th March 2005

Wow This is interesting . Sounds like a great experience for you. Keep up the jurnal cause I enjoy reading it - Grandma Maurer
29th March 2005

We have the same name!
Hi Jamie, Just "Googled" my new name in order to see what popped up, and found your newly created blog. I live in Scottsdale, AZ but my husband (we are newleyweds) is from Holland, MI, and thus, I just became a deVries. Incidentally, I also spent a semester in Buenos Aires while I was in college - Spring of 2000. Hope you have an absolute blast! Smiles, Jamie (jamiecherie@hotmail.com) - Jamie deVries
15th April 2005

Love those pics
Love to see the pictures. Am hoping you will be able to take a picture of where you live, the universities and what u take at each, as well as ur bedroom and host family. Your journal entries are awesome! We are so proud of you.. Love Mom and Dad - Dee DeVries
9th May 2005

I miss you!
Jamie, keep updating this because I love hearing about your travels. I've been trying to send you e-mails but they have been coming back as of late - try to send me something if you can. LonikJ@student.gvsu.edu - DeWitt is lonely without you! Love ya! - Jessica Lonik

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb