Eating can be a chore.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 20th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Trying to order breakfast at 1 in the afternoon with a hangover is not for the faint of heart. I can´t get them to understand bacon. Just bacon. Dammit Tocindo! but no. They still don´t get that either. aarrgghh.

I went out drinking last night and got plastered. A "lost" passport drove me to those lengths, I figured I wouldn´t worry about it and trust in the luck of Brian. And it worked. My passport appeared in mi camiso. Ha! Sometimes it really is good to be me.

I´ve been taking pics like crazy so when i get a bit more time on the computer here I´ll post them.

Hasta luego!

Advertisement



21st January 2006

bacon?
hehehe, I suppose they don't understand you if you ask for "tocindo" because the correct word is "tocino", but mmmm, in Spain, for example, bacon is widely used... but I don't know in Argentina. I hope this work ;) Just try to ask for tocino. Good luck
22nd January 2006

good to hear you made it
i start work day after tomorrow... wish i were out wandering around again.
22nd January 2006

Bacon
You have to ask for "panceta". But we don't eat bacon for breakfast... You have to be happy with mediaslunas, tostadas or a cheese-jambon sandwich. Enjoy your stay!
23rd January 2006

bacon
well, you could just ask for bacon. if they don't understand, ask for Bacon. And if they still don't get it, BACON. Then make oinking noises. Most of 'those' people understand it when you mime stuff out, although sometimes they don't understand enough, dirty beggars. What language is the international language, anyways? English. And who are 'those' people anyways? International. 'Nuff said.
24th January 2006

Loosing stuff
Ah.... you can't keep loosing stuff, especially a US passport. Otherwise, you'll have to smuggle yourself back thru Mexico.
24th January 2006

Good points
thanks for the hint about panceta. I´ll try tomorrow, I have been kinda going crazy ordering the stuff that I can´t find translations for in my dictionary. Important note, tortilla here involved no corn or flour. It is a shape of the food served. I ended up with a spinach quiche (minus crust). The others had a breakfast quiche (minus crust). The spinach was REAALYY SALTY. Too much for me. but then again, the newest hangover and lack of sleep werent helping.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb