Made it!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 19th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived. It. Is. Hot. City Hot. I likey.

It is causing my feet to burn as I cruise the streets. No bike, just walking. My bike is in storage at the hostel as I forgot to get my wrench from the baggage people. It had gotten taken at the TSA security checkpoint for being 1/2" too long, then checked in. And I forgot it. That´s what happens after 16 hours on planes.

Oh, Well, I found a bike shop around the corner from the hostel, and although they can´t sell their wrench they will put my pedals on for no problems.

So, now I sit on a busy street in Downtown BA, a few blocks from the expensive part district and the yacht club. Well never found the club just the entry to an empty dock. woohooo.

My first meal is filet de merluza a la gallege. Hake with potatoes. Not bad, lightly cooked and soft. really tasty with the paprika dusting.

Buenos Aires is a fine city. Clean (mostly) with great colonial style architecture. The air smells funny, a mixture of stale water and sewage. It reminds me of southern California, so dressed up yet still muxed up with the city life.

OOh. I´ve gotta point out that the women are stunning; but the men have taken their fashion sense from a mixture of GQ and "Dog the Bounty Hunter" TV show. The mullet is back, only shorter. Everyone wears suits and ties. Very dressy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb