Bueonos Aires 3


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 28th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't going to do a part 3 but thought I'd tell you about the football game I went to last night.

It was between River Plate (a Buenos Aires team) and America (a Mexican team). It was at River Plate's stadium and was a cup game equivilant to our Champion's League, it was the play off for the semi final. It was one of the best games of football I've ever seen, ok, I know I haven't seen that many football games! Both teams played really well and passed the ball with such precision, it was amazing. I was on the edge of my seat for all of the game. America scored within the 1st 15 minutes or so but as they had no fans there their goal was greeted with a deathly silence, I actually felt quite sorry for them! River Plate scored their 1st goal in the 2nd half and as you would expect the crowd went wild, it was such a fantastic atmosphere in the stadium. The game continued on with the same momentum but in the last 10 / 15 minutes River Plate gave it their all and scored in the very last minute - well the crowd went totally mental, I had goose bumps with the buzz of it all. We were sitting opposite what I can only describe as Chelsea's old shed end, apparently that's where all the hard core fans stand!

I'm staying in a really posh hotel at the moment, organised by the tour operator, I'm sharing this enormous suite with a German girl, Birgit. It was meant to be a suite for 3 but there's only 2 of us, after staying in hostel's, it's a real treat! However, the next few weeks will be spent camping! We've had torrential rain most of the day here and the news is reporting flooding, feels like home! Not complaining though, the weather up to now has been fantastic, but I hope it drys out before we have to camp (which will be tomorrow night) so not likely and rain has been forecast for the next few days. After the V festival.... I'm prepared, I think!

Leaving tomorrow now for Patagonia so my next update will be from there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb